Life with It’s Ups and Downs

August 23, 2008 at 5:50 am 1 comment

If we are honest with ourselves, there is no one who is “up” all day every day.  Life is hard.  “No one knows what goes on behind closed doors,” was a line in a popular song years ago.  Illness, death, rejection by loved ones, hurtful words that can never be taken back. So many things happen.  We all have our story that most people don’t know.  But God knows…and cares. 

Dan has done okay considering that today was the second day after his chemotherapy. The mass keeps growing protruding from his right groin and right abdomen. It is hard for him to get around well.  Besides, the pain never stops.  It only increases when he has to sit down or stand up.  When I look at Dan’s face, I see how weary he is.  I’m very tired which leaves me open to negative thoughts, sadness, painful emotions.

This is supposed to be a journal, a chronicle of events about our journey in the Dark Wilderness.  It would be nice if every entry was positive, happy.  But that would not be a chronicle – that would be a fairy tale.  Sometimes I write nothing because I hurt too much, have nothing happy to report.  But there is always the good news that we are not alone when we are in Christ.  

“Count it all joy my brothers whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.” James 1:2.  In other words, when you are struggling, hurting, you can rejoice because you know this will help you to grow stronger in your faith, and even better able to glorify God by your lives.  We are being tested by Satan. God will help us win this battle one day at a time. — Dan and Anne

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

A Really Good Day Each Day Is a New Day

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  August 23, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    A truth fact of our human reality is, “If a person is happy, then his face will show joy. But if a person is sad in his heart, then his spirit will show that sadness (Proverbs 15:13).” It’s ok to feel sad, hurt, weary, and down right now. Satan has thrown a fiery flaming arrow at your hearts. God still loves you. God still cares about you. King David writes of his sorrow-filled heart feelings and his faith in God’s enduring love and beneficial kindness, “My heart is in anguish within me; the terrors of death assail me. Fear and trembling have beset me; horror has overwhelmed me. I said, ‘Oh, that I had wings of a dove! I would fly away and be at rest . . . I would hurry to my place of shelter, far from the tempest and storm . . . Cast your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you; He will never let the righteous fall (Psalm 55:4-6,8,22-NIV).” Jesus promises, “Remember, I will always be with you–even until the end of time (Matthew 28:20-SEB)!” Lots of love to you both. May God be with your minds, hearts, and spirits in Christ Jesus our Lord. Amen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

