Dan Said –

September 7, 2008 at 4:00 am 1 comment

First an update on Dan’s condition – We are thankful that Dan slept well last night, and that he was able to eat everything I prepared for him today. He is eating small amounts, but he is eating.  OK, so he still weighs enough, but lost a lot of muscle mass. If they give him more chemo Monday, all his food will probably taste like metal again.  

This evening, around 9 p.m., it was pleasant outside.  Dan was able to walk for 5 minutes before his energy was gone.  But that is the first “walk” he has taken since he became so ill.  Thank you for continuing to pray that God will heal Dan, that we will have the strength to endure this trial, and pray that food will taste good to Dan.  — Anne

NOW A WORD FROM DAN –  

The week after the treatments is very challenging.  If you look for my  
hair, most of it is gone!!!  But, thanks be to God, He has seen me  
through again.  I’ve told several friends here that it is a little  
like being seasick.  They say when you are seasick, the first day or  
two you are afraid you are going to die.  The days after that you are  
afraid you won’t die!!!

Seriously,  I want to give you a word of encouragement.  Suffering  
this kind of illness is never enjoyable, but God stands by me and by  
all of us during such times.  The reason I am a Christian is the same  
reason Paul said he was an intentional follower of Christ.  He said:   
“I want to know Christ and experience the mighty power that raised him  
from the dead. I want to suffer with him, sharing in his death, so  
that one way or another I will experience the resurrection from the  
dead!” (Philippians 3).  — Dan

TO BE CONTINUED

Entry filed under: A Word from Dan.

Each Day Is A Gift Dan’s Day

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  September 7, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    To God be the glory! Great things God has done! Your faith continues strong even when you feel weak. The Lord walks with us, talks with us, and lifts us up at just the right time. Steve and I love you very much. Steve and I continue praying that God will restore good health, give you calm courage in the middle of the storm, provide uplifting encouragement from many good people, and fill your spirits with joyful hope in God’s lovingkindness. May the Lord bless you richly and keep you safely in His divine care now and always. Amen in Jesus name.
    Love to you both, Sherrie

    God changes sorrows to joys: “I thought I would never have peace again. I forgot about good things. I said to myself, ‘I no longer have any hope that the Lord will help me.’ But then, I think of something else, then I have hope. What I think of is this: The Lord’s love and kindness never ends. His compassion never ends. Every morning He shows it in new ways! Lord, you are so very true and loyal! I say to myself, ‘The Lord is my God, and I trust in Him.’ The Lord is good to people who wait for Him. The Lord is good to people who look for Him. It is good for a person to wait quietly for the Lord to save him (Lamentations 3:17,18,21-26-ETRV).”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

