A Day of Blessings

September 14, 2008 at 4:49 am Leave a comment

When Dan said, “I’m thankful for a quiet day today,” I was speechless!  Well, yes, it was quiet for him.  We did not have to go anywhere today because two of our “daughters,” bought groceries for us this week. But I was on my feet working from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m. (except for when I sat down to eat a meal).  It takes up a lot of time searching through books and info on line to discover which vegan diet actually fights Stage IV cancer. Some vegan diets fight Stage I, or II or even III, but not Stage IV.  Dan is terminal, Stage IV.

Dan took over the researching.  All I had to do was study and comprehend about 15 pages he printed from the internet. I sandwiched that in between studying how to use Dottie’s new grinder, blender machine, and reading the book Three Months to Life.  Then there’s the question that has to be answered, “what and how do I prepare what Dan needs?”  Somehow 3 loads of clothes got washed. Even though Dan is able to do some things for himself now, there are still things Dan needs help with.  If that was a quiet day, someone has to show me!

But if it was so busy, where did the title for tonight’s blog come from?  No, I have not “lost my marbles” yet!  We were blessed with several precious e-mails. We were blessed by visits with our loved ones. Attila called Dan on Skype from St. George to tell him about a positive dream that he had about Dan.  (This was the first time since we’ve been back in Texas that Attila and Dan got to speak “face to face” on Skype.)  That visit really encouraged Dan.

Just after we finished our dinner, we were blessed by a visit from Curt, one of our Shepherds, and our former Bible class teacher…a man very dear to us. Dan’s sister in Hobart, OK, blessed us with a phone call. AND the day was “topped off” by an e-mail from our son, Bob, giving us their plane schedule.  He and his wife will be here the weekend of Sept. 27 when LST honors Dan and me for our years of service in the Kingdom. 

Stefan reminded us, “The apostle Paul also understands the feelings we experience.  In Scripture, Paul expresses his circumstances and feelings, ‘There was given me a thorn in the flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me.  Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me.  But He said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.’  Therefore, I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me…For when I am weak, then I am strong. (2 Corinthians 12:7-10-NIV).”  — Anne and Dan

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

Terminal, Maybe Not! Making Progress

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

