A Day of Challenges and Blessings

September 18, 2008 at 4:08 am 1 comment

Dan is doing okay.  His energy level is okay for short periods, but he is still recovering from having chemo put into his body.  He began part of the diet plan today. We are learning.  The carrot juice made in the Vita Mix blender needs to be thinned down with distilled water.  The low fat cottage cheese, flax oil and flax seeds with organic berries…well, that is going to take some time to mix it to a consistency that can be eaten.  (It also takes quite a bit of time to clean up the flax seeds when they come flying out of the grinder. You HAVE to put that lid on tight! )

We learned today that we must find another car to borrow or buy.  The car that has so graciously been loaned to us for 2 months has to be returned in two weeks.  

With Dan’s health so uncertain, we are going to look for a place without stairs to rent on a month to month basis.  We are thankful for Dottie taking us in while we adjusted to being back in the States and dealing with the fact that Dan has cancer again. (I believe Dottie is really an angel in disguise.  No one human being could be so wise, so kind, so understanding, so comforting, so loving, so helpful, have such great Bible knowledge, and be so “sold out to Jesus.”  When I grow up, I want to be like Dottie!

The day ended with a great big blessing when we attended Wednesday night church service.  One of our shepherds prayed over Dan asking God to please heal Dan.  I asked for prayers that I not become bitter.  The valley is very dark right now, but our God will carry us through.  

Take a few minutes and meditate on Luke 12:22-34.  “…do not worry about your life….Who of you by worrying can add an hour to your life? Since you cannot do this very little thing, why do you worry about the rest?….But seek His kingdom, and these things shall be added to you as well….Do not be afraid, little flock, for the Father has been pleased to give you the Kingdom….For where your treasure is, there you heart will be also.” What does that say to you personally? — Anne and Dan

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

No New News from C-T Scan Better Each Day

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  September 20, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    Sending my love, affection, and prayers to you. May God bless you and keep you in His infinite care. Love to you, Sherrie

    “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul. He guides me in paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever (Psalm 23:1-6-NIV).”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

