A Word FOR Dan

October 6, 2008 at 2:36 am 2 comments

On October 3, 2008, Dan asked the Lord to give him a word from Scripture on which to meditate.  When he opened his Bible, this is what he saw —

 

Psalm 116

 “I love the LORD, for he heard my voice; he heard my cry for mercy.

 Because he turned his ear to me, I will call on him as long as I live.

 The cords of death entangled me, the anguish of the grave came upon me; I was overcome by trouble and sorrow.

Then I called on the name of the LORD : “O LORD, save me!”

The LORD is gracious and righteous; our God is full of compassion.

The LORD protects the simple hearted; when I was in great need, he saved me.

 Be at rest once more, O my soul, for the LORD has been good to you.

 For you, O LORD, have delivered my soul from death, my eyes from tears, my feet from stumbling,

 that I may walk before the Lord in the land of the living.

 I believed; therefore I said, “I am greatly afflicted.”

 And in my dismay I said, “All men are liars.”

 How can I repay the LORD for all his goodness to me?

 I will lift up the cup of salvation and call on the name of the LORD.

 I will fulfill my vows to the Lord in the presence of all his people.

 Precious in the sight of the LORD is the death of his saints.

 O LORD, truly I am your servant;  I am your servant, the son of your maidservant; you have freed me from my chains.

 I will sacrifice a thank offering to you and call on the name of the LORD.

 I will fulfill my vows to the LORD in the presence of all his people,

 in the courts of the house of the LORD— in your midst, O Jerusalem. Praise the LORD.”

Please, pray for us, for Dan to be healed, peace in our hearts, and strength to do what we need to do.  The path is still winding and treacherous.  We do not know what is ahead.  We do know that God is with us.  — Anne and Dan

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

We Have Left All We Had… What Will the Surgeon Say

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann J  |  October 6, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    Isn’t that a wonderful scripture! Jerry and I continue to pray for Dan and you, too. Ann

    Reply
  • 2. Fern Doyle  |  November 18, 2008 at 12:30 am

    Thanks for the update. I continue to pray for you all. May our Lord comfort you in every way each new day. I think of you often each day. We love you and hurt for you.
    Fern

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

