Surgery Scheduled for Dan…Again

October 8, 2008 at 4:33 am Leave a comment

We celebrate that Dan can have surgery now.  It will be at HEB Methodist early in the week of Oct. 20. The surgeon and oncologist believe that it is safe to clean out the mass. The sac cannot be removed because it is too near major veins. Dan will be in the hospital two nights, in recovery at “home” about six weeks.  
A Wound-Vac will be placed over the incision until it heals. Dan will wear it day and night. A Wound-Vac is a vacuum device that will pull the air out of the cavity left by the surgery, and draw the opposite walls of the remaining sac together.  This will prevent the empty space from filling up again, and promote rapid closing of the open area.  A biopsy of the sac tissue will be done at that time.
The battle has been long.  We are nearly worn out physically, and emotionally. How dare I say that I don’t know how we are going to make it through this next surgery?  I am not a coward.  I just know I don’t have much inner reserves left.  Home Health Care did very little to help after Dan’s surgery in January. The nurse took one look at me, and started telling me how I was able to do the things she was there to do.  She did not explain how I was to find 30 hours in a day to do all that needed to be done.
This year will have been dedicated to fighting cancer. God has faithfully carried us through. The cancer is dead.  There’s just the mass that won’t dissolve like it’s supposed to do.  God will not abandon us now. That’s all we know.  The days get long and lonely.  If you have been ill or have been the care giver for a loved one, you know what I mean.   Please, keep praying that God will make Dan’s body strong, healthy, and dissolve the mass before time for the surgery.  Thank you for your continuing encouragement, prayers and support.  
“Keep your lives free from the love of money, and be content with what you have, because God has said, ‘Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.’  So we say with confidence, ‘The Lord is my helper, I will not be afraid. What can man do to me?’ ” Hebrews 13:5-6.  — Anne and Dan
Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

What Will the Surgeon Say When I Am at My Lowest, God Sends His Angels

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

