Life Is a Blur

October 24, 2008 at 4:21 am 1 comment

Dan is doing well, praise God!  He gets up in the morning and with my help gets bathed and dressed. We eat our sauerkraut first thing.  A little later, we eat the Budwig Diet of organic low fat cottage cheese blended  with low lignan organic Flax Seed Oil and fruit.  Then he takes it easy for a couple of hours…dozing in the glider rocker in front of the TV.

I haven’t figured out how to keep to the rigid daily schedule of preparing 5 eight ounce glasses of fresh carrot juice, several servings of Super Greens in water, and his special Cellect vitamin and mineral powder mixed with organic fruit juice.  All of that has to all be worked in between meals.  We are truly grateful that friends from church are preparing organic dinners that meet Dan’s needs.

People keep encouraging me to take care of Anne.  I haven’t figured out how to do that if I’m going to take care of Dan, and all the household responsibilities.  Yesterday afternoon, I just let everything go and rested several hours.  Today, I kept pushing because there was and still is so much to do.  By 5 p.m., I could not function any longer.  My body and my mind were hurting.  Since I couldn’t do anything else, I took a rest.  It’s after 11 p.m. now, and I have two more hours of work to do.  BUT I’m going to bed.

Did you read Sherrie’s comment on last night’s blog?  She reminded me of some very helpful words from Jesus.  “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest . . . learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light (Matthew 11:28-30).”  “The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear Him, and He delivers them.  Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him (Psalm 34:7,8).”   I pray that God will help us remember these Truths, and that God will heal Dan.  This is a long, bumpy road we’re on, but God is our refuge. — Anne and Dan  

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

Well, It Was a Day The Sun Came Out Today

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  October 24, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    Hello Dearest Anne and Dan,
    I totally understand how you feel. I comprehend the struggle. However, this IS the best time to take a rest now and again when you get an opportunity to rest and relax, because the work you do in your waking hours is stressful indeed. You are using a lot of energy. Rest helps us replenish our energy.

    I know firsthand how hard it is to rest when someone is sick or we feel distressed. When I lift up my eyes and see all the housework that must be done, but remain on doctor’s orders to rest, a dilemma whirls through my goal oriented mind and body. So, in unrestful times, I’ve learned to choose not viewing the messy house–I ignore it. Of course, the mess won’t go away by ignoring it, but then I gain an opportunity to focus on the healing and goodness that God IS doing on my behalf even during the unrestful times. I gain an opportunity to see how much God has truly done for me during the distressing times. I get closer to God even in the middle of the mess and pain.

    You know that I love you very much. It’s okay to take a quiet rest after you’ve worked so hard and endured so much. Then by resting every now and then, you won’t suffer sinus infections or some other irritating health aggravations. Please make time and take good care of yourself. As I consistently have to tell myself, “Or, you won’t be able to take care of anything else.” I consistently say these words to myself during trying times that test my soul. I hope the scriptures below help you like the scriptures consistently help me during trying times. God bless you.

    Love to you,
    Sherrie

    SCRIPTURES OF QUIET REST: “God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore, we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea . . . The Lord Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress . . . Be still, and know that I am God . . . (Psalm 46:1,2,7,10-NIV).” “Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him . . . Wait for the Lord and keep his way . . . there is a future for the man of peace . . . The salvation of the righteous comes from the Lord; he is their stronghold in times of trouble. The Lord helps them and delivers them . . . because they take refuge in him (Psalm 37-NIV).” “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not be in want. He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he restores my soul (Psalm 23:1-3-NIV).” Jesus says to the storm, “Peace, be still (Mark 4:39)!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

