When You Reach the End of Your Rope…

November 13, 2008 at 4:23 am 1 comment

Things had been going so well with the cavity in Dan’s body filling in. We were so happy that Dan was able to get around better, do more things, and help me take care of him.  But this afternoon when the nurse checked Dan’s wound, there was a 10″ row of blisters under the tape on the right side of the wound, and a few large blisters on the left side of the wound.  Removing the tape took the top off of the blisters. The nurse carefully cleaned the blisters, applied antibiotic, and left the area open so it can get air.

That means that the wound vac cannot be used until the skin is healed, that Dan has to wear clothing that does not rub the blisters. What that really means is that has Dan to lie in a position that lets air get to these places. The nurse will be back Friday morning to put a clean dressing in the wound.  

Once I heard the saying, “When you are at the end of your rope, tie a knot at the end, and hang on.”  I thought it was funny.  It is not funny now.  I’m not good at tying knots. My knots come loose.  Remembering the promise that God does not allow more troubles than you can bear, I also remembered that Paul said in Philippians 4:6,7, “The Lord is near.  Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” 

Are you worrying about something?  Will you work alongside me on being obedient to Paul’s teaching?  I felt much better after I prayed and gave God all my worries.  — Anne and Dan

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

When I’m at A Low Point… Some Improvement

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  November 13, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    The scriptures that come to my mind in these times that try the soul are: “Give your worries to the Lord and He will care for you. The Lord will never let good people be defeated (Psalm 55:23-ETRV).” This is what you did . . . you gave your worries to the Lord in prayer. And by giving your worries to the Lord, then you felt better when His angels surrounded your heart and cared for you by making you feel better.

    After Jesus’ temptations in the wilderness, the scripture states, “Then, the Devil left Jesus. Immediately, angels came and helped Him (Matthew 4:11-SEB).” God is good all the time! God sends the help we need at just the right time. When we think we can not tie a knot and hold on anymore. Guess who catches us when we slip and start to fall? “God will command His angels for you, and they will protect you wherever you go. Their hands will catch you, so that you will not hit your foot on a rock. You will have power to walk on lions and poisonous snakes. The Lord says, ‘If a person trusts me, I will save him. I will protect My followers who worship My name. My followers will call to Me for help, and I will answer them. I will be with them when they have trouble. I will rescue them and honor them. I will give My followers a long life. And I will save them (Psalm 91:11-16-ETRV).”

    Love to you,
    Sherrie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

