Faith When Times Are Tough?

November 21, 2008 at 4:22 am 1 comment

Even though Clark told us yesterday  that this kind of setback – dead tissue in the wound – is normal, we are struggling to accept it.  The doctors told us that there is a possibility that the incision will never heal. So here we are…waiting…waiting on doctors to set up the time to clean the wound.  Why do I let it disturb me to not know when the Dr. will remove the dead flesh, if this can be done in the doctor’s office or in the hospital, will it have to be done many times, how long will this delay our return to Romania?

It’s easy to say we are “walking by faith” when things are going smoothly.  There must be a reason Paul wrote in Philippians 4:4 – 9, “Rejoice in the Lord always.  I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all.  The Lord is near.  Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thansgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God which transcends all understanding will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy — think about such things.  Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me or seen in me — put it into practice.  And the God of peace will be with you.”   We need the God of peace to be with us right now.  Tomorrow is Grandparents Day at Kristen’s school, but we are not invited.  “Think about excellent things….the God of peace will be with you.” == Anne and Dan

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

Two Steps Forward & One Step Back? In Limbo

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  November 22, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    “Rejoice in the Lord always,” means to me that each day I wake up and thank Jesus for being alive. I say, “Thank you Jesus for giving me life today.” I thank Jesus for every person in my life today. Each day, no matter what happens, I am saved–thank you Jesus. So whether I have a good day or a bad day, whether joy or misery, whether prosperity or loss–the truth fact in Jesus is: I am alive and I am saved by the power of Jesus Christ. Therefore, “I can do all things through the One who loves me and gives me the power.” Why and how? Jesus never stops loving me. Jesus never stops saving me. Jesus never stops caring about my pain. Therefore, I CAN rejoice always in all things because I choose trusting the Lord in every circumstance. My choice of being happy in the Lord’s salvation and love, gives me strength to go through whatever my day throws on me.

    Happiness and joy do not simply fall on certain people or only happen when circumstances go well for people. The good apostle Paul teaches that the real challenge in finding happiness is during the difficult times when our faith is tested. Can we find the good in each day? Can we find joy in our Lord? Nehemiah teaches, “The joy of the Lord is your strength.” Strength comes from joyful happiness.

    Happiness is a choice we choose making everyday when we awake and start our day. “Today is the day the Lord has made,” David says, “Let us rejoice and be glad in it.” Nehemiah, David and Paul learned to choose being happy that the Lord was with them, loving them, and saving them every single day. Nehemiah, David and Paul learned to be happy no matter what was happening each day in their lives because they chose rejoicing in the Lord’s salvation and the Lord’s love for them every single morning when they awoke.

    Happiness is something we choose to be — no matter what happens in our lives. We choose happiness or misery by the way we choose to think about our circumstances. We can either find the good and cheerful in every circumstance or find the bad and miserable in every circumstance. The choice is ours to make every single day. Sure we will cry tears of sadness in sad times. But do we have to “live, dwell, and abide” in the “living misery?” No. We can choose where we” live” in our minds. One fact is consistently true: Believers can always be happy that the Lord loves us and saves us–every single day–in every single circumstance. No matter what happens, the Lord loves us and saves us–that is something to be joyful about every single day.

    Love, Sherrie H.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

