The Day After

December 3, 2008 at 4:33 am 1 comment

Having the wound cleaned yesterday improved the draining.  The size of the swollen area is smaller, and is less painful.  The infection in the wound is better.  But the realization that what we thought was new tissue is probably the sarcoma growing into the cavity…well, it’s been a somber day.  We have no desire to live on this earth forever.  For many reasons, we’d rather be at home with God.

But God has sent us so many people to love, teach and encourage.  For that reason, we’d rather be here on earth…but where on this earth should we be?  We have “brothers,” “sisters,”  “children,” and “grandchildren” on 3 continents. Isn’t it funny that so often we think we are in control, when actually God allows our direction to be changed in a moment.  

“Take my life, O Father, mold it in obedience to thy will.  And as lightening years unfold it, make me pure and childlike still.” That verse from a song we used to sing a lot still has great meaning to us.  “Oh, Father, we pray that you will use us as tools in your hands to glorify you.  Please, God, our Creator, keep us out of the way of your goals for our lives being accomplished.  We pray this for not only for ourselves but for our loved ones around the world.  In Jesus name,  amen.”  — Anne and Dan

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

Surgeon Did Clean Wound The God of Hope

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  December 3, 2008 at 4:30 pm

    Dearest Anne and Dan,
    The Song entitled “Unto Thee, O Lord” comes to my mind today. Words are from Psalm 25:1,2,3,7. Music by Charles F. Monroe, arranged by Pam Stephenson, copyright 1973 by Maranatha! Music and Charles Monroe. Singing: “Unto Thee, O Lord do I lift up my soul. Unto Thee, O Lord do I lift up my soul. O my God, I trust in Thee. Let me not be ashamed, let not my enemies triumph over me. Yea, let none that wait on Thee be ashamed. Yea, let none that wait on Thee be ashamed. O my God, I trust in Thee. Let me not be ashamed, let not my enemies triumph over me.”

    Another song entitled “Where No One Stands Alone” comes to my mind. Words by Mosie Lister. Music by Mosie Lister, arranged by Pam Stephenson, copyright 1955 by Lillenas Publishing Co., Inc. Singing: “Once I stood in the night with my head bowed low, In the darkness as black as could be; And my heart felt alone and I cried, ‘O Lord, Don’t hide Your face from me.’ Hold my hand all the way, Ev’ry hour, ev’ry day, From here to the great unknown. Take my hand; Let me stand where no on stands alone.”

    May God and Jesus stand with you and make you triumphant over your enemies, so you never have to stand alone through any trials, suffering, or pain. Amen in Jesus name.

    Love, Sherrie H.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

