Always Something!

December 16, 2008 at 7:05 am 2 comments

Dan continues being very tired.  Though he never complains, the constant pain wears him down.  Ever since the surgeon cleaned the wound, it drains a lot.  We suppose that is a good thing.  If the cancer indeed is dying, it is important to have good drainage.  But there seems to always be a new challenge.  To add to his discomfort, he now has hives on his head, neck, much of his torso, and on the back of his right thigh.  His doctor in Texas prescribed Benadryl every 8 hours.  If it’s not better by morning, we will contact Dan’s doctor here.

When I was 6  years old, I thought I wanted to be a nurse when I grew up.  When I was 9, my mother had a serious operation. Seeing all those tubes connected to her made me feel ill. I said then, “I never want to be a nurse.”  Well, today, the Home Health nurse was ill.  I had to change the bandage.  Not my favorite thing to do.  But I have watched every bandage change Dan has had, and saw where the tape was put. It’s very hard to tape a bandage to the leg and then to the torso. Today  I was very careful to apply the tape just right so that he was not hobbled.  Guess what?  He has been pain free ever since I put the new bandage on.  But no bragging until we see if this actually solves the pain problem.   I still do not want to be a nurse!

Because Dan wakes up in the night hurting, we bought a mattress topper today for the nearly new bed we are sleeping on.  By God’s grace, we have a roof over our heads, food on our table, clothes on our back, and some family who are able to accept us the way we are.  Our Christian family fills our “love bucket” daily with notes, phone calls, kind deeds, and prayers.

Today, just for today, we are cared for…and that is enough. Though the path we have been given to follow is dark and frightening at times,  God will not abandon us.  In Hebrews 13: 5 – 6, the writer speaks to all intentional followers of Christ “…be content with what you have, because God has said, ‘Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.’  So we say with confidence, ‘The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.”  — Anne and Dan

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

The Battle Continues

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann J  |  December 17, 2008 at 5:28 am

    Dear Anne and Dan, I want you to know that we continue to read your blog regularly and you are always in our prayers. I feel that it is important to let you know how what a lesson in faith you are teaching! You find beauty in each day regardless of it’s many challenges. Thank you for your wonderful Christian example. God is glorified in you lives. Sincerely, Ann J

    Reply
  • 2. Ann J  |  December 18, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    Praying for you. Ann

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

