December 18, 2008 at 7:55 am 1 comment

At 1:00 a.m. Wednesday morning, Dan said, “I need you to fix my bandage.  It has come untaped.”  By 1:30 a.m. the bandage was in place.  Dan went right back to sleep, but I had just “had it.”  The day was too much for both of us.  I asked God for a scripture to encourage me because I was tired, upset that Dan was not getting good care.  Isaiah 61 lifted my spirits!

Awaking at 7:00 a.m.,Dan had a fever of 102.2 F. and was still itching all over.  By mid-day, the fever was lower, the itching less. Sleeping most of the day,  he only ate two good meals. He loses weight if he does not have 3 meals a day.  I’m praying that he will soon have his appetite back.  Michelle and her mother, Leann, cut all of the veggie today.  Michelle was a huge help with the carrot juice project.  After that, Michelle told me to take her car and sent me off for a 20 minute walk on the beach. It is a 20 minute walk up the mountain from the beach to this house!

We’re glad the Home Health nurse came today.  She brought supplies, and changed Dan’s bandage. She said she was very open to letting me teach her how to tape the bandage…but then she  did it partly her way.  Tonight, 11 p.m., half of the tape was loose, so Nurse Anne fixed it.  I hope we finally get a nurse who will learn how to tape it so it stays taped AND does not cause Dan pain.

Isaiah 61  is a scripture God often gives us, “The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me, because the Lord has anointed me to preach good news to the poor.  He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners, to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor and the vengeance of our God, to comfort all who mourn, and provide for those who grieve in Zion–to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.  They will be called oaks of righteousness, a planting of the Lord for the display of  His splendor….”  — Anne and Dan in Montara, CA

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

The Battle Continues Fever Lessens

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ann J  |  December 19, 2008 at 2:55 am

    You have been in my thoughts today. One of my scriptures today was Psalm 5. It ends with these words, “But let all who take refuge in You be glad; let them ever sing for joy. Spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may rejoice in you. For surely, O LORD, you bless the righteous; you surround them with your favor as with a shield.” This is my prayer for you tonight. Ann

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

