Fever Lessens

December 19, 2008 at 9:18 am 1 comment

Have you heard the question, “How do you know a person is really getting old?”  The answer is, “because all they talk about is their health problems.”  Well, folks, here’s our health report for the day.   We thought we were making progress because Dan had very little fever today.  The hives are only a tiny bit improved. Tonight, new big welts popped up in new places.  Friday Dan is to see the doctor, and have blood work.  We hope to make an appointment with the dermatologist to try to discover what is causing the rash.

We are thankful…that today we celebrated Scott’s 47th birthday…that Michelle again prepared the carrots for juicing, and I ran them through the juicer in just a few minutes…that I was able to stay focused and worked in 5 glasses of carrot juice for Dan off and on throughout the day…that Leann again helped in many ways…that a nurse came  today.  She’s the 4th California nurse I’ve taught how to tape Dan’s bandage on so he can walk better.  So far, this trip has not turned out to be a time of relaxing and gaining strength. Instead, it’s been pretty true to how life goes – full of surprises, some pleasant and some not so pleasant.  What is also true is that no matter what Satan throws at us, our God is faithful and provides what we need.

What we need right now is to be at peace, let go of trying to control what happens to us and be able to completely trust God.  The Apostle Peter wrote in I Peter 4: 5 – 7, “…All of you, clothe yourselves with humility toward one another, because, ‘God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble.’ (Prov. 3:34)  Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that He may lift you up in due time.  Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.”  — Anne and Dan

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

Living in a Landscape Artist’s Painting

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  December 20, 2008 at 1:53 pm

    When the king became sick, Hezekiah felt troubled deep in his soul. His words are recorded in Isaiah 38 regarding all the troubles he endured. His response to God’s kind healing power are recorded there also. My prayer for you is that the Lord will give you comforting relief from all your afflictions, lift you up and out of this present ‘darkness,’ and give you peaceful calm in the middle of the storms. Amen in Jesus name.
    Love to you, Sherrie

    King Hezekiah writes, “I cried like a dove. I cried like a bird. My eyes became tired, but I continued looking to the heavens. My Master, I am so depressed. Promise to help me . . . I have had these troubles in my soul. So now I will be humble all my life. My Master, use this hard time to make my spirit live again. Help my spirit become strong and healthy. help me become well! Help me live again! Look! My troubles are gone! I now have peace. You love me very much (Isaiah 38:14-17-ETRV).”

    God’s Promise to Save His People: “God is high and lifted up. God lives forever. God’s name is holy. God says: I live in a high and holy place, but also with people that are sad and humble. I will give new life to the people that are humble in spirit. I will give new life to the people that are sad in their hearts . . . I will comfort him and say words to make him feel better. Then he and his people will not feel sad (Isaiah 57:15,18-ETRV).”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

