A Day Off

February 8, 2009 at 4:43 am 2 comments

It was good to be able to take the day off today.  Our son spent the afternoon and evening with Dan at the hospital.  (Our son from North Carolina is arriving late tonight.)  Dan ate a big breakfast, sat in his chair for awhile, but slept quite a bit because of the mild pain medication they are giving him.  He even fell asleep while talking to me on the phone!

This morning, I took my yogurt, oats and banana to the beach…and had breakfast in the sun while the waves roared like a thousand tornados. A devotional followed by a long walk along the beach helped “pull me together” a bit.  It seemed that the stormy, crashing  waves were expressing the turmoil we feel about the ordeal Dan is facing.  God created the ocean, and God created us.  He calmed the Sea of Galilee.  If we let Him, He will calm our hearts.

In order to be able to take care of myself as so many are admonishing me to do, I had to be away from the hospital.  Even though today was a total day of rest for me, I am still exhausted.  I pray God will provide the help we need so that we can give Dan the care he needs. Maybe I need a different perspective…think about how God is going to surprise us with the help we need – Hundreds, maybe thousands by now, are praying for us.  Barbara B. has already offered to drive me to the hospital Wednesday or Thursday next week.  Natasha B. has offered to come for a week to give me a break before I break. We are blessed.  God always provides. — Anne and Dan

 

"Curly" in Parnassus Before Surgery

"Curly" in Parnassus Before Surgery

 

 

"When Storms Around Are Sweeping, When lone my watch is keeping, Remember me, oh Mighty One."

"When Storms Around Are Sweeping, When lone my watch is keeping, Remember me, oh Mighty One."

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

Because of God’s Great Love The Night Before

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. curtis sampley  |  February 9, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    Dan and Anne,
    It has been well over 50 years since I have seen you. I went to my 1952 Prickly Pear to refresh my memory. I recognized Dan immediately.

    Dwayne reports that you have had a fruitful work in Rumania. God has surely blessed your efforts. I prayer with you that the surgery will go with haste and full recovery. I trust you will once again be able to return to the work so dear your heart.

    God bless. The saints are praying for you and God has promised that the prayers of the righteous are not in vain.

    Reply
  • 2. Sherrie Hammond  |  February 12, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Our precious Dan! Give him a gentle hug for me, please.
    Love, Sherrie H.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

