A Hard Day

February 17, 2009 at 7:25 am 1 comment

Was it because this was the 3rd day after surgery that Dan just could not get comfortable most of the day?  No matter how many pillows they put under his legs, around his back, under his arms, Dan was soon hurting again.  I saw that the morning nurse was fed up with Dan by the time I got there at 11 a.m.  

As I was pondering how we’d manage all day with her, a sweet, energetic nurse who had helped Dan one day last week came smiling in the room.  She cheerfully explained that there’d been a switch, and she’d be Dan’s nurse for the rest of the day.  She and her assistant took care of his every need cheerfully.  About 5 p.m., I went down to the cafeteria to get a cup of coffee (my first break for the day).  I bought 10 big cookies, put them on a plate, placed them at the nurses station with, “Thank you, Dan Boyd, Room 27.”  Our two nurses thanked me for giving them extra energy 2 hours away from the end of their 12 hour shift.  

In the morning, I’ll leave the house at 8 a.m. with our son.  He can drop me off at BART – Bay Area Rapid Transit, electric train that will take me to downtown San Francisco. From there, I can take the N Judah trolley bus to within about 3 blocks of the hospital.  The 3 block climb up the steep hill will be good exercise!  That may put me at the hospital around 9:30 a.m. or so.  It’s a 45 minute drive by car, but BART is the only solution for Tuesday a.m.  The congregation and family  friends will take me Wed., Th, and Friday.

LIfe continues to be challenging, but God is with us. Things are working out.  Paul tells us in Phillippians 4:4 – 7, “Rejoice in the Lord always.  I will say it again. Rejoice!  Let your gentleness be evident to all.  The Lord is near.  Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”   So…go in peace.  — Anne and Dan

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

1Encouraging Day The Road Back Looks Long

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Fern Doyle  |  February 17, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    I can personally attest to the fact that the 3rd day after surgery is terrible.
    the 2nd day you think this is not so bad – then the 3rd hits with a bang. We do hope this day is much better.

    Yes, you do what you have to do and I am praying for renewed strength for you, Anne, each new day.
    with love, Fern

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

