Day Two At Home

February 28, 2009 at 6:35 am 3 comments

John W. said Thursday that Dan will gain strength each day.  That is TRUE!  Today, Dan did 2 things he had not been able to do for weeks – he moved his right leg, AND turned himself over in bed by himself!  Praise God!!!

Several friends have asked us, “What makes you different?”  Perhaps this story will help you understand us better:  “NO ONE HAS GREATER LOVE – NO ONE HAS SHOWN STRONGER AFFECTION – THAN
 TO LAY DOWN (GIVE UP) HIS OWN LIFE FOR HIS FRIENDS.” John 15:13
One day a while back, a man, his heart heavy with grief, was walking in the woods. As he thought about his life, he knew many things were not right. He thought about those who had lied about him…
  
His thoughts turned to those who had stolen his  things and cheated him. He remembered family that had hurt him. His mind turned to the illness he had, that no one could cure. His very soul was filled with anger, resentment, and frustration.
  
Standing there this day, searching for answers he could not find, knowing all else had failed him, he knelt at the base of an old oak tree to seek the one he knew would always be there. With tears in his eyes, he prayed:
  
‘Lord – You have done wonderful things for me in this life. You have told me to do many things for you, and I happily obeyed. Today, you have told me to forgive.. I am sad, Lord, because I can’t, I don’t know how. It is not fair Lord, I didn’t deserve these wrongs that were done against me. As perfect as your way is Lord, this one thing I cannot do. My anger is so deep Lord. I pray you teach me to forgive.
  
Kneeling there in the quiet shade of that old oak tree, he felt something fall onto his shoulder. He opened his eyes. Out of the corner of one eye, he saw something red on his shirt. Where the oak tree had been was a tall, rough piece of wood in the ground. He raised his head and saw two feet held to the wood with a large spike through them.
As he raised his head more, tears came to his eyes as he saw Jesus hanging on a cross…spikes in His hands, a gash in His side, a torn and battered body, deep thorns sunk into His head. Finally he saw the suffering and pain on His precious face. As their eyes met, the man’s tears turned to sobbing, and Jesus began to speak.
‘Have you ever told a lie?’ He asked?  The man answered – ‘Yes, Lord.’
‘Have you ever taken something from work that wasn’t yours?’ Jesus asked.
And the man sobbed when he answered, ‘Yes, Lord.’
‘Have you ever sworn, using my Father’s name in vain?’
The man, crying more, answered – ‘Yes, Lord.’
 
As Jesus asked many more times, ‘Have you ever’? The man’s crying became uncontrollable, for he could only answer – ‘Yes, Lord.’
 
Then Jesus turned His head from one side to the other, and the man felt something fall on his other shoulder. He looked and saw that it was the blood of Jesus. When he looked back up, his eyes met those of Jesus. There was a look of love the man had never seen or known.

Jesus said, ‘I didn’t deserve this either, but I forgive you.’

When Jesus died on the cross, he was thinking of you!  

We thank God that Jesus’ love helps us to keep growing.  — Anne and Dan

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

God Keeps Sending Angels Another Day Has Passed

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. movila maria and kids  |  February 28, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    The story I just read affected me deeply.I am covered by the blood of the Lord.Thank you! from time to time it’s good to read this story.Our hope is that He loves us…
    I’s great that Dan is at home.Now it’s eassyer to recover.May the angels help him do that quickly.I just send you our great love.GOD BLESS YOU!

    Reply
  • 2. Gerry  |  March 1, 2009 at 5:22 am

    I am so thankful to God for Dan’s progress! Also, I am sure that prayers from around the world, and being home with loved ones has helped, too. Prayers and love, Gerry

    Reply
  • 3. melissa bourland  |  March 1, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Dear Dan and Anne,
    That story is such a powerful illustration of Jesus’ love and forgiveness. Thank you for passing it on to us. I am so thankful Dan is home, getting stronger, and you are together!(and not in a hospital). I pray that God’s Sonshine warms and strengthens you both each second, minute and hour.
    Love and prayers,
    Melissa

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

