A Very Good Day

March 12, 2009 at 5:42 am 1 comment

Last night wasn’t so good what with Dan’s clock all confused.  But today was great!  Natasha knew I had an appointment with the chiropractor followed by an appointment to get my hair “styled.”  So, as I was leaving, Natasha told me I was not to come home until 6:30 (18:30)!  While I was gone, she enlisted the help of the California Boyds who were at the house, and went to work on the pieces from Ikea.  There are now 2 small chest of drawers and a dressing table completed.  All of our “stuff” is scattered here and there.  We have found most of what we need for the night.  : > )

Dan had a very encouraging session with the physical therapist this afternoon. They took a walk outside, and Dan learned new exercises to increase the strength in his right leg.  The Occupational Therapist didn’t show up, but eventually phoned to reschedule.

Tonight I’ll see how much the adjustment by the chiropractor helped my right hip.  I hope to sleep through the night without waking up with my hip “burning.”  My new hair style is rather simple – so simple that the moist, blowing ocean hair really can’t mess it up much.  I’ll know in a few days how I “feel” about it.  

After my hair got chopped off, I went window shopping on Main Street in Half Moon Bay.  I haven’t done that since we left Romania last July.  I ate lunch sitting in the sun on the patio of a small deli, and spent the rest of the afternoon on cold, breezy but sunny Montara Beach.  When I got back to the house, Natasha served us a colorful, delicious, healthy meal. Before she came, I felt as though I was going to “crack.”  Now, today, I had hours to take care of myself…and even do some fun things.  Our God will supply all of our needs, always. — Anne and Dan

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

One Step Closer Our Hearts Are Full

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  March 12, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    I hope we get to see a photo of your new hairdo, Anne. Happy you were able to get out of the house, relax, shop, hairdo, dine out, get ‘adjusted’ at the chiropractor, and enjoy God’s creation. Natasha is a great helper and support to both of you.

    Anne, I’m glad you didn’t “crack” . . . you know, you just get tired, because there is so much work to do and very many emotions to cope with following this type of surgery Dan had done . . . recovery is long, but the Lord is making recovery possible. In this we all rejoice that recovery is occurring! Keep your focus on the good recovery happening right now . . . each day holds a recovery celebration of joy . . . seek and you will find it.

    God is good all the time! God answers our prayers! We will continue declaring each day the wonderful promises of God over your bright, happy, relaxing future. In this way, we keep our minds focused on the optimistic future outcome that we want for Dan and Anne (right?). I am positive praying answers and solutions on your behalf, not the problems. God is answering prayers with happy solutions!

    Keep the faith, rest when you need to rest, be thankful for every good blessing, and find the joyful peace in each day. Then, God will send the healing one day at a time. Healing comes from finding the joy, peace, and hope in each day’s thankful blessings. Enjoy the journey on the way to the destination. I say this to myself when the “road gets long and hard.” I hope Sherrie’s Slogan helps you too.

    Love to you,
    Sherrie H.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


