Made It Through Another Day

March 16, 2009 at 6:53 am 2 comments

Dan’s cellulitis is improving, not as swollen, not as red…if he keeps his right foot higher than his heart.  The medicine is working.  But the bottom half of his leg (his calf) looks like it has a bad sunburn.  

Satan keeps telling me to stop bothering people with all our troubles…that everybody has illness and problems…that people are going to get tired of hearing about our battle with health problems (and battles with myself).  But tonight, just as I thought I was not able to “hold it together,” the Holy Spirit reminded me tonight to pray, and to put a message on Facebook.  My friends who have given me permission to be connected with them through Facebook check the messages often.

A few minutes after I prayed, and put a message on Facebook, our grandson came in to tell us, “goodnight.”   He went to Dan first, but, Dan, being a gentleman, told him to tell me good night first.  When Danny came to me, I hugged him and said, “Well, if Gran won’t tell you goodnight, I will.  I will tell you goodnight any time – morning, noon or night!”  We both got to laughing.  Then, this 13 year old wonderful grandson said, “I’m glad to know there is someone as weird as me!”  Now, that is a compliment I will always treasure!

When I checked my messages, Kelly and Aimee had already written to say that they were praying.  Just hearing from them filled my heart with joy and peace.  You don’t have to believe me, but I’m convinced that our grandson and I had that special moment as an answer to those prayers.  And, I am encouraged to continue to share our struggles with you and turn to you for prayers to help us make it through these difficult days.

“The cloud of the Lord was over the tabernacle by day, and fire was in the cloud by night, in the sight of all the house of Israel during all their travels.” Exodus 40:38   Because of Jesus, all of us who choose to follow Him will have the Lord to guide us day and night.  What a comfort. — Anne and Dan

Golden Gate Park and San Francisco Bay on a foggy day

Golden Gate Park and San Francisco Bay on a foggy day

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

Dan is Improving Tried by “Fire”

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fern Doyle  |  March 16, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Please continue to inform us of Dan’s progress and your health and well-being. We draw strength from your faith in our Lord. Just tell Satan to but out, we want to continue getting the daily updates. This is the only way we have of knowing how things are going.

    We have just received info about the upcoming “Crawford Reunion” and it brought such pleasant memories of all those times we have been together and had so much enjoyment with all of those “Ben Crawfords”.
    Dale & Fern

    Reply
  • 2. Dottie  |  March 16, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    Welll, sweet one, you help me know how to pray…I can be specific instead of :please take care of Anne and Dan.” it seems God gives you what you need at the moment you need it. I send you both my love and please tell your sweet children, they are part of my prayers, also.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


