Dan’s Day Improved Hour by Hour

March 29, 2009 at 5:30 am 1 comment

 

Covasna County Children at '08 Red Cross Camp.  (They wanted to be in the photo, but at the last minute turned their heads!)

Covasna County Children at '08 Red Cross Camp. (They wanted to be in the photo, but at the last minute turned their heads!)

Please, keep praying that God will help this happen — that the non-profit Christian organization that we have asked will send (at no cost to us) a container of medical equipment for Covasna County Red Cross to distribute. Pray that God will help them “cut through the red tape” and be able to accomplish this task.  The need is so great.  The diabetes rate among children in that area is rising at a fast pace.  They need diabetes tests and measuring kits desperately as well as more walkers, wheel chairs, disposable diapers for the elderly, and other medical equipment.
Dan started the first part of the day having a painful time with his legs.  But at least the additional taping that I did late last night kept the Wound Vac quiet!  We are so thankful!!!  

 Our  son, daughter in law, and 13 year old grandson made Dan 2 “mattresses” to fit each of his lightweight recliners. Working as a team, they used a 3″ memory foam mattress topper cutting it with a sharp tool. Resting on that now, his ankles easily stay elevated above the level of his knees.  Dan’s pain level has improved, the swelling has gone down in both of his feet and ankles, and his right leg is not nearly as swollen as it was!

By late afternoon, Dan was feeling so much better, he decided to see if he could drive our little Saab to the Post Office to pick up our mail.  Our son went with him.  (I don’t know what we thought he could do if Dan’s right leg didn’t work right.  Now that I think about it, they could have had a Father – Son moment “sharing” a crashing experience!)  Praise the Lord, they made it okay.  Afterwards, Dan was exhausted from the Event, and said, “I think it will be awhile before I drive again.”
Again, God has focused my attention on Luke.9:47 – 48.  “Jesus…took a little child and had him stand beside Him.  Then he said…, ‘Whoever welcomes this little child in my name, welcomes me.  And whoever welcomes me, welcomes the One who sent me.  For whoever is least among you all is the greatest.” (Do you get the connection with our prayer request?) —  Anne and Dan
Entry filed under: 1.

Six Weeks After Surgery A Challenging Day

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Marilyn Holland  |  March 29, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Hi Dan and Anne!

    So happy to hear about the car for you – a definite blessing for you both! Keep on hanging on! I just posted this song to my Facebook page and sent the lyrics to Sharon Washburn so am sending to you guys, also!

    Even tho I walk through the valley of the shadow of death
    Your perfect love is casting out fear
    And even when I’m caught in the middle of the storms of this life
    I won’t turn back
    I know you are near

    And I will fear no evil
    For my God is with me
    And if my God is with me
    Whom then shall I fear?
    Whom then shall I fear?

    Oh, no, You never let go
    Through the calm and through the storm
    Oh, no, You never let go
    In every high and every low
    Oh, no, You never let go
    Lord, You never let go of me.

    And I can see a light that is coming for the heart that holds on
    A glorious light beyond all compare
    And there will be an end to these troubles
    But until that day comes
    We’ll live to know You here on the earth

    Oh, no, You never let go
    Through the calm and through the storm
    Oh, no, You never let go
    In every high and every low
    Oh, no, You never let go
    Lord, You never let go of me.

    Yes, I can see a light that is coming for the heart that holds on
    and there will an an end to these troubles
    But until that day comes
    Still I will praise You, still I will praise You

    Oh, no, You never let go
    Through the calm and through the storm
    Oh, no, You never let go
    In every high and every low
    Oh, no, You never let go
    Lord, You never let go of me.

    Here is the link to YouTube of the song:

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


