Every Day Is More of the Same…but Different

April 3, 2009 at 6:07 am Leave a comment

Dan is responding well to the change in medications…he slept better last night; the edema is lessening.  But he awoke with pain in his joints in his left shoulder, hip and knee. Dan took 2 Tylenol which took care of the pain.  I called Dr. Jahan to report this new development.  First, his nurse called back to tell us to give Dan more Vicodin.  She finally understood that Dr. Jahan wanted to know of any new developments…and told him. 

Much to our surprise, Dr. Jahan himself phoned to discuss the situation.  Thinking the pain was a symptom of withdrawal from the Vicodin, he gave instructions on helping Dan come off the Vicodin. But Dan has not taken that daily.  Whatever was causing the pain, once the Tylenol kicked in, the pain was gone!  

The morning was full of phone calls – 4 from Dan’s doctors, and several that I made still trying to get a Primary Care Doctor…with no success.  One call was particularly interesting. The appointment scheduler for the Neurology Dept. called to offer to move Dan’s appointment up from April 22 to the 8th, at 8 a.m.   She said, “That is the only time available.”

When I told her that it was really too early for us, she said, “Dr. Jahan called to say that he wants Dan seen by a neurologist soon.  We made that opening just for Dan.”  Now, we are praying for someone to step up, offer to drop him off on their way to work, and that someone else bring him back as far as Pacifica for an 11 a.m. appointment.  Or maybe someone has the morning free and will help.

We need help because my shoulders are giving out from turning Dan over in bed, and moving his legs for him for a couple of weeks.  Driving made it worse.  Today Dan told me that he will find someone to take him to that 8 a.m. appointment.  So Dan has joined the crowd telling me to take care of myself.  I began by having a massage therapist come to the house today. 

Have you heard the story about the ant  carrying a contact lense on it’s back, and got it back to the owner of the lense?  The story goes that the ant said, “Lord, I don’t know why You want me to carry this thing. I can’t eat it, and  it’s awfully heavy. But if this is what You want me to do, I’ll carry it for  You.’  I think it would do all of us some good to say, ‘God, I  don’t know why You want me to carry this load. I can see no good in it and it’s awfully heavy. But, if You want me to carry it, I will.’ ”  God is worthy of our praise and trust.  — Anne and Dan

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

Today We Met Dr. Appelle Settling In

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

