God Is Not Finished with Us Yet

April 18, 2009 at 6:55 am Leave a comment

Dan had another difficult day – swelling from extreme fluid retention.  His “vital signs” are normal, but heart rate has been in the low 90’s for 2 days.  Fever free all day, he began a low fever at 6 p.m..  The Dr. asked me many questions, said the fluid retention may be a result of changing diuretics and that it will improve some each day.  He said, “give Dan 2 Tylenol to stop the fever now, and call me at any hour day or night this weekend if you need to.”

As I was studying this morning, I began to learn a valuable lesson that is helping me deal with grief.  The message for April 17 in GOD CALLING, by A. J. Russell, says there are two kinds of doing God’s will.  Accepting hearts, eager to do His will, receive abundant help from the Lord. But points out, “Resignation to My Will keeps Me barred out from more hearts than does unbelief.” 

We’ve been battling cancer for 16 months. and other things that fill our hearts with grief.  I reached a point of being resigned to God’s will.  Today, I am beginning to accept His Will.  Joy is returning. 

Then God gave me Matthew 10:34-40 (as written in The Message) “Don’t think I’ve come to make life cozy. I’ve come to cut—make a sharp knife-cut between son and father, daughter and mother, bride and mother-in-law—cut through these cozy domestic arrangements and free you for God. Well-meaning family members can be your worst enemies. If you prefer father or mother over me, you don’t deserve me. If you prefer son or daughter over me, you don’t deserve me.

“If you don’t go all the way with me, through thick and thin, you don’t deserve me. If your first concern is to look after yourself, you’ll never find yourself. But if you forget about yourself and look to me, you’ll find both yourself and me.

“We are intimately linked in this harvest work. Anyone who accepts what you do, accepts me, the One who sent you. Anyone who accepts what I do accepts my Father, who sent me. Accepting a messenger of God is as good as being God’s messenger. Accepting someone’s help is as good as giving someone help. This is a large work I’ve called you into, but don’t be overwhelmed by it. It’s best to start small. Give a cool cup of water to someone who is thirsty, for instance. The smallest act of giving or receiving makes you a true apprentice. You won’t lose out on a thing.”

At last, I hear Him…and am beginning to accept what He is telling me.  Is there a message in there for you? — Anne and Dan

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

God Is Our Protector Wavering Trust

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

