In the Wilderness

May 4, 2009 at 6:03 am 1 comment

News? –  Monday morning Dan will be in surgery to have a drain put in to slowly draw the fluid out that is putting so much pressure on his heart.  Nothing about treatment of the cancer has been decided.  “Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you, yes, I will help you, I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10.  We cling to this scripture sent to us by Vicki W.  It’s not a matter of, “Are we going to live or die?”  Of course, we will die.  The question is, “Are we ready today to meet God?  Did we live for Him or for someone else?  Did we follow His teachings…or did we make our own path, and expect God to say, “You are so special! You did not have to do what I wanted?”

Well, that was a long question.  : > )  Dan chose to confess Jesus as his Lord and Savior when he was immersed at age 12.  But Dan gave his life to Jesus completely, totally, when he was 16.  He has been a serious student of God’s Word for over 60 years.  He told all the doctors, “If it is my time to go, I am not afraid of death. I have been a Christian for over 60 years.  I am ready to go Home.”

I think his fear is, “What are the doctors going to put me through before I die?”  Saturday, he thought he had seen the last of doctors that day when the rather brusque, young Resident Dr. finally left his room about 9:30 p.m.  But no – at 11 p.m., a team of 3 doctors woke him up to discuss his case with him!  Twelve doctors didn’t let Dan sleep until almost midnight.  The fatigue created by all that made his Restless Leg Syndrome literally kick in. His legs hurt and twitched all night.  He finally fell asleep at 8 a.m. today.   He did get more sleep today.

I took care of myself  – talked on Skype with Adolf & Reka, and Bogi; had a lovely visit with Emily, a new friend; & rested a lot.  Too tired to hold a book very long, I listen to sermons on line, and books on CD.  But, I fall asleep in the middle…waking up to hear the end, so I listen again. I’ll never run out of something good to listen to!  — Anne and Dan

 

Happier Days in Romania

Happier Days in Romania

Entry filed under: 1.

More Saturday News It’s All in How You Look at It

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ann J.  |  May 5, 2009 at 4:58 am

    Dear Anne, Do you think there is anything as fatiguing as uncertainity and concern over the one you love? I certinly don’t. What a major test of faith. I am praying for you and for Dan. For comfort, strength, peace, healing, tenderness and hope. I am so sorry that you both are having to go through this. Things will be better! Lovingly, Ann

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


