It’s All in How You Look at It

May 5, 2009 at 8:22 am 4 comments

Is the news today good, or bad?  It’s all in how you look at it.  The good news is that the drain was successfully put in.  Another liter of fluid was removed.  Dan can breathe easier.  The other news…you decide – good? bad?

To get to the bottom line as we know it now, Dan is too frail for chemo.  Surgery is not an option.  Tthe Radiology Team plans to meet with Dan and Scott.   Why no chemo?  Only 1% of sarcomas respond to chemo.  Chemo works slowly.  This 10 cm. mass doubles in size very rapidly.  

Why not surgery?  This team of Cardio Thorasic surgeons perform miracle surgery daily, but this sarcoma is too close to too many major things.  So that leaves three possibilities – radiation?  Dan goes Home soon to receive his reward?   God will choose to heal him Himself?

How is Anne?  Right now, I am calm. The tears come easily, but I will be all right. Dan and I have talked about his hopes for my future.  We know God will provide me with work and the means to help others that will glorify Him.  I’ve been thinking of all the friends and family waiting for Dan to join them.  He lost his dad when Dan was only 22 years old.  They were just beginning to get acquainted and become friends when his dad was taken by leukemia.  

His dad was a good man, worked his way through Pepperdine when Dan was in grade school, a self-supporting missionary in Alaska when Dan was in Fairbanks Jr. and Sr. High. He never had much time to spend with his family.  Maybe Dan and his dad will be able to continue those long talks they were just beginning to have.  That will be a good thing.

I could list many good things about Dan getting to go live with God.   BUT what if God decides to answer your prayers with a “YES!” and display His Power by healing Dan?  That will be a good thing.  

“Behold, the eye of the Lord is upon them that fear him, upon them that hope in his mercy; to deliver their soul from death, and to keep them alive in famine.  Our soul waiteth for the Lord; he is our help and our shield for our heart shall rejoice in him, because we have trusted in his holy name” (Psalm 33:18-21). This is how we see it. — Anne and Dan

Dan and Raul at Covasna County Children's Summer Camp

Dan and Raul at Covasna County Red Cross Summer Camp for Kids

Romanian Professionals Who Help  Children Always Come to My Classes

Romanian Professionals,Who Help Children, Always Come to My Classes

 

Break time at Covasna County Red Cross Camp

Break time at Covasna County Red Cross Camp

 

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

In the Wilderness The Final Word Has Been Given?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fern Doyle  |  May 5, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Only God knows exactly what is going on in Dan’s body. I pray that God will put in the Dr’s minds what is best for Dan. I selfishly pray for more years, but only if he could have a measure of good health. I pray for both of you morning and night. May you be granted all the strength, courage and faith that you need for each new day.

    Anne, I doubt that I would be as strong as you are. I do hope you are over your sinus problem.
    With love and concern,
    Fern & Dale

    Reply
  • 2. Arlene Kasselman  |  May 5, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Anne
    I felt a well of emotion as I read this, similiar to how I feel about my Mom at times. One thing I know, if Dan goes to be with Lord sooner rather than later, my Mom will welcome him with open arms and a cup of tea 🙂

    Oh how you have both fought this battle with every tool in your toolbox and some new ones that you have mastered along the way.

    And about Dan’s life we can truly say, in life and in death, God has been glorified. My humanity wants to scream out, “heal himi” because I want to know he is here. But, oh what joy awaits him with the Lord if that is what is to come. And I want to yell again, ‘but for Anne — heal him” because regardless of the reward in heaven for Dan, you then have to walk the road of earthly grief in its fullness. But let me promise you this. You will be held, loved, prayed over and cared for. You are loved and cherished.

    Bless Scott for what he is doing right now. Love on Dan for his kids here in Amarillo.

    Reply
  • 3. jmccully  |  May 5, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    am thinkting of you both and remembering the fun times when we had tea and conversation. am praying for your comfort and healing. hope that your day is peaceful.
    blessings to all. june

    Reply
  • 4. Dottie  |  May 5, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    I love you both very, very much. I have prayed, I pray, I shall continue to pray. Please tell Scott and Michelle how wonderful they are. May God give you all exactly what you need minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


