A Beautiful Day

May 10, 2009 at 5:16 am 2 comments

God was especially kind to us today.  The sun shone all day.  We received e-mails from friends we haven’t heard from in ages and phone calls from people who are very important to us.  Tom and Jaye came for a few sweet hours and were gone again…rather much like life… a vapor that   passes away.  If there is someone you have been intending to contact… If there is an apology that you need to make, do it before this day is over.  If there is someone you love, tell them now how important they are to you.  Tomorrow may be too late.  Be “Jesus with skin on” for all those you come in contact with.  You may change a life by a “chance” encounter.

LIVE today…and if you are an intentional follow of Jesus, STUDY His Word  not so much for knowledge, but FOR UNDERSTANDING so you can FOLLOW Him according to HIS WILL.   In the end, His Will is what matters.

Dan has been especially tired today.  His old sleep apnea mask kept slipping in the night.   It will be several days before he can get the new mask.   He is praying that he will be strong enough to take our family out for Mother’s Day dinner.

REGARDING GUIDED IMAGERY —  IMPORTANT — Dr. Tom Payton and Dr. Jaye Crowder, outstanding therapists in Dallas, told me today —  Guided Imagery is more effective when the patient is awake.  Research has demonstrated that during the first ten minutes of sleep, the brain takes in the words of Guided Imagery.  After being asleep ten minutes, in most cases, the brain does not receive the message.  IF YOU ARE GOING TO DO GUIDED IMAGERY,  FIRST GET IN A RELAXED STATE OF MIND, AND STAY AWAKE TO RECEIVE FULL BENEFIT OF THE MESSAGE IN THE GUIDED IMAGERY.  (That is also what I was taught in my University training.)  Some may disagree.  That’s okay.

A friend shared this with me –

“Dear Father, worthy God,
You declared that just as death came through the sin of one man, so life comes through one man’s resurrection from the dead. As in Adam all die, so also in Christ shall all be made alive. But each in his own order: Christ first, then at His coming we who belong to Him.

Thank you, Father, for the assurance you gave by raising Him up. Thank you that His resurrection is our resurrection! Thank you for this revelation of the order in which it will come.

In the name of Jesus I offer you this thanksgiving and praise for the most wonderful events of history, Christ’s resurrection and
ours. Amen.” — Anne and Dan

Wagon loaded with bee hives takes the bees to the blossoms in Romania.

Wagon loaded with bee hives takes the bees to the blossoms in Romania.

Entry filed under: 1.

An Interesting Day Last Mother’s Day with My Dan?

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Barbara Balcioni  |  May 10, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    Happy Mothers Day Anne. Im sorry but I m unable to come and visit today. I will try to come tomorrow afternoon. I will call you all first. I leave for N.C. on Tuesday morning. Its been really hard for me to accept Dan not getting better. I have cried most of the last week. Just the thought that I won’t see him with you makes me so sad. I know that he will be better off. But…. I want make him a peach strucil pie. I know how much he enjoyed it when I have made it in the past. I am praying for you all. I hope to see you tomorrow. Much love Barb Balcioni

    Reply
  • 2. Sherrie Hammond  |  May 11, 2009 at 3:57 am

    I like the “Dear Father” poem a friend shared with you. It is so true that a Christian’s greatest promise from God resides in the Resurrection. God is in the Raising Up [Resurrection] Business. God either raises us up to a new day so we can serve Him. Or, God raises our spirit up to heaven’s home to be with Him forever and later God will raise up our bodies out of the grave. Either way, Christians are raised up and out of this world’s destruction and decay to a New Life with a New View through Jesus’ teachings. Either way, Christians win victory over our sorrows.

    Believers have this New View and New Life about everything that happens on our journey. In this way, Jesus gives believers the abundant, plentifully supplied life that never ends. How wonderful having this great hope in Christ’s Resurrection.

    Jesus says, “I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly (John 10:10-RSV).” “I am the resurrection and the life. The person who commits himself to Me will live, even though he may die. Every person who lives and commits himself to Me will never die! Do you believe this (John 11:25,26-SEB)?” “I am the good shepherd. I know My followers and My followers know Me, just as My Father knows Me and I know My Father. I will give my life for the sheep . . . My sheep listen to My voice. I know them. They follow Me. I give them eternal life. They will never be lost. No one will snatch them out of My hand. My Father is stronger than anyone. No one can snatch them from My Father’s hand. He has given Me all things. My Father and I are united (John 10:14-16, 27-30-SEB).”

    Love you,
    Sherrie H.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


