“I Don’t Feel Sick Enough to Be Dying”

May 11, 2009 at 2:23 pm 3 comments

Last night…OK, it was 1 a.m. this morning, Dan was in pain from swollen feet and legs.  I hadn’t been to bed – he needed so much care last night…clean and pack the wound, adjust the CPAP face mask that doesn’t fit, etc.  I massaged his feet and legs for half an hour, pressing gently upward to get the excess fluid to move out.  After arranging 5 pillows to hold his ankles higher than his knees, I went to bed.  At 3 a.m., and 6 a.m., I arranged pillows again. Our work in the night was worth it. The swelling is almost gone!

As we talked about the future when he will be with Jesus, free of all pain, Dan said, “I don’t feel sick enough to be dying.”  I wonder how sick one has to feel in order to know that the end is near?  Is Dan’s life nearly over?  The doctors say so.  

I hope you will read what Sherrie wrote last night, think about it, listen to what the Lord is saying to you as you read it, and do something about it.  But that’s up to you.  You are free to choose what you do.  You only have to explain it to God once…on the Judgement Day.  Then He gets to choose what your next step is.

Sherrie said,  “It is so true that a Christian’s greatest promise from God resides in the Resurrection.  God is in the Raising Up [Resurrection] Business.  God either raises us up to a new day so we can serve Him.  Or, God raises our spirit up to heaven’s home to be with Him forever and later God will raise up our bodies out of the grave.  Either way, Christians are raised up and out of this world’s destruction and decay to a New Life with a New View through Jesus’ teachings.  Either way, Christians win victory over our sorrows.  

Believers have this New View and New Life about everything that happens on our journey.  In this way, Jesus gives believers the abundant, plentifully supplied life that never ends.  How wonderful having this great hope in Christ’s Resurrection.  

Jesus says, “I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly (John 10:10).”  “I am the resurrection and the life.  The person who commits himself to Me will live, even though he may die.  Every person who lives and commits himself to Me will never die!  Do you believe this (John 11:25,26)?”   “I am the good shepherd.  I know My followers and My followers know Me, just as My Father knows Me and I know My Father.  I will give my life for the sheep . . . My sheep listen to My voice.  I know them.  They follow Me.  I give them eternal life.  They will never be lost.  No one will snatch them out of My hand.  My Father is stronger than anyone.  No one can snatch them from My Father’s hand.  He has given Me all things.  My Father and I are united (John 10:14-16, 27-30).”  — Anne and Dan

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

Last Mother’s Day with My Dan? Something to Think About

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeanie Mercer  |  May 11, 2009 at 3:23 pm

    (Once when our daughter Mary’s husband (Roger) brought her home from the hospital, our other daughter (Amy) said, “He brought her home so she could NOT SLEEP in her own bed.”)

    In the heavenlies,
    I looked and there before me
    A door stood open.

    — Jeanie Mercer

    Reply
  • 2. Sherrie Hammond  |  May 12, 2009 at 12:51 am

    Sweet Parents in the Lord,
    On Tuesday, Steve & I must fly to Texas for Steve’s mother’s Wednesday funeral. She went to sleep in Jesus and passed away from this earth into heaven’s glory on Sunday, May 10, 2009. Though we are sad, because we will miss her very much, we are happy her sweet spirit is safely in the arms of Jesus where there is no more pain, sickness, suffering, sorrows, grief, or death.

    Before we leave Maryland, I wanted to share some comforting words that Jesus speaks to our hearts and minds during these times that try our human souls. I consistently find comfort in Jesus’ words in good times and in sad times. He is our strength and in Him there is no darkness at all. Notice the happy promises He gives us in the words “will” and “has” in the Scripture below. Take care of yourselves. Remember, we love you both so very much. You are daily in our thoughts and prayers. May the angel of the Lord’s presence be with you and rescue you from every hurtful thing.

    Jesus says, “I am telling you the truth . . . My Father is the One who gives you the true food from heaven. God’s food comes down from heaven and gives life to the world . . . I am the food which gives life. The person who comes to Me will never be hungry. The one who commits himself to Me will never be thirsty. . . All that the Father gives to Me comes to Me. I will never throw out the person who comes to Me . . . This is the will of the One who sent Me: I must not lose anything that God has given to Me. I must restore it to God on the last day. This is what My Father wants: Every person who sees the Son and commits himself to Him WILL have eternal life. I WILL restore that person on the last day . . . No one can come to Me, unless the Father who sent Me draws him. On the last day I WILL raise that person from death . . . The person who believes HAS eternal life (John 6:32-48-SEB).”

    Love to you,
    Sherrie H.

    Reply
  • 3. Karen Jinkerson  |  May 12, 2009 at 4:43 am

    Dear Anne & Dan,
    You probably will not remember me but we were in class with you at RHCC with Curt Parsons leading. We prayed over you when you left to go back in the mission field. I want to thank you both for the blog. It is such an inspiration to walk with you in such a small way on this journey of life. I was honored to be with my father during his final days on this earth and watched him continually do as both of you are doing, leaning on the Lord for guidance and direction. I can truly tell you that he went to the Father with a smile and hope in his face.

    Please know that we will continue to lift you both before the throne because even when you know that the time is coming, it is still not easy. The greatest part of the journey is that we know where it will end, at the feet of Jesus!

    May the Lord bless you and keep you and give you peace.

    In HIM,
    Karen Jinkerson

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


