Weeks…Not Months

May 13, 2009 at 5:52 am 4 comments

Today we met with Dr. Jahan for the last time.  Dan asked, “Can you give me an estimate of how long I have?”  Dr. Jahan, with great compassion in his eyes said, “We can’t say for sure. There is no way to know.”  Dan asked, “Can I expect to have a short burst of energy, and then go?”  Jahan replied, “No. Your energy level will lessen day by day until you go to sleep and don’t wake up. ”

Dan continued asking questions. At last, Dr. Jahan decided to give Dan a time frame. “if you just had a sarcoma, you might possibly have six months.  But given that the sarcoma is so close to your heart, you probably only have a few weeks.  The tumor may cause interference with your electrical system.  If that happens, it will be like flipping a switch…and it will be over.”  Dan was quiet for a few moments, and then said, “I finally understand the reality of the situation.  Thank you.”

Dr. Jahan counseled, “Do not wait until you feel like doing things.  Prioritize what you need to do.  Begin tomorrow training Anne about your accounting system and whatever else you want her to know.  Take it in small steps, but do it now.”   Dan prepared detailed information for me before his first surgery in January, ’08.  But now, it is time to take me through it step by step.

While we waited for our ride, I read Dan the devotional for today in GOD CALLING, by A.J. Russell.  It says, “Turn out all thoughts of doubt and of trouble….What greater treasures can you have than Peace, Rest and Joy?  These are all stolen from you by doubt and fear, and despair….Face the storm….Joy, Peace, Love, all three My great gifts.  Follow me to find all three….Real joy and victory come only to those alone who sense these when they ride a storm....”

Say, ‘All is well.’…not as a vain repetition. Use it as you would a healing balm for  a cut or a wound until the poison is drawn out.  Then, until the sore is healed, then, until the thrill of fresh life floods your being.  All is well.” — Anne and Dan

Dan and Anne 'Together'

Dan and Anne 'Together'

 

My Little Sister, Comfort, and me, Kumasi, Ghana, W. Africa, 2003

My Little Sister, Comfort, and me, Kumasi, Ghana, W. Africa, 2003

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dick, Hanny (from Holland) and Dan - true friends for 49 years

Dick, Hanny (from Holland) and Dan - true friends for 49 years

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

Something to Think About Facing Reality

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeanie Mercer  |  May 13, 2009 at 11:14 am

    “All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of thing shall be well [no matter what].” — Julian of Norwich

    “We’ll find the place which God for us prepared,
    Far away in the West.
    Where none shall come to hurt or make afraid;
    There the Saints will be blessed.
    We’ll make the air with music ring,
    Shout praises to our God and King;
    Above the rest these words we’ll tell —
    All is well! All is well!”

    –William Clayton

    Reply
  • 2. Fern Doyle  |  May 13, 2009 at 11:31 am

    I hope today will be a memorable day. May God pour his richest blessings on both of you.

    Dan, I have always admired your quiet spirit. The times you spoke at the Crawford Reunion was so inspiring. We always looked forward to hearing you. Thanks again for the wonderful job you did for me at Mama’s memorial. You have blessed so many people in your work for our Lord.

    I hope this will be a day without so much pain. May our God bless each of you with the help you need for the day.

    With love and appreciation,
    Fern

    Reply
  • 3. Charla Arnold  |  May 13, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    It was such a blessing to talk with Dan briefly last week. Your friendship to me and my family was immediate, and an authentic expression of what I believe is Christ’s love expressed in our physical lives. Strong and gentle. Wise and humble. Never judging. Always fair. Generous with time, money, teaching, service. Truly, angels on earth, both of you.
    From financial advice to marrying Tyler and Heather, lunches with Edd, listening ear……. I love you.

    What do you need?

    Love,
    Charla

    Reply
  • 4. Vicki  |  May 13, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    Thought of Dan when I read this:
    “God, you have taught me since I was a young boy. And to this day I have told people about the wonderful things you do! Now I am old and my hair is gray, but don’t leave me, God. I must tell the next generation about your power and greatness.
    God, your goodness reaches far above the skies. God, there is no god like you. You have done wonderful things. You have let me see troubles and hard times, but you will give me new life; you will lift me up from this pit of death! You will help me do even greater things. You will comfort me again!”
    Psalms 71:17-21

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


