Facing Reality

May 14, 2009 at 5:04 am Leave a comment

We are thankful for having this day together.  These are somber but loving days as we grapple with the increasing pain in Dan’s left shoulder which is requiring stronger and stronger pain medication.  This morning, he got up and dressed, ate breakfast with me,rested off and on all day, and began working with me on things he’d been putting off until he felt better.

We wish we had the ability to focus strictly on the joy that awaits him when he crosses over the river. But the fact that he cannot say “goodbye,” face to face to so many that we love  brings him such sadness.  We pray that we will both get to say, “Hello,” when and if they join us in Heaven.  We keep going back to the joy he will have sitting at the feet of Jesus surrounded by so many dear friends who have gone on before.  He’s awestruck that finally he will he meet God.  He’s hoping he gets to have conversations with Moses, the prophets, the apostles, and so many “Greats in the Kingdom.”  Can you imagine having small group discussions with some of these people?

Vicki wrote this to us today.  She knows us so well.  “Thought of Dan when I read this:
“God, you have taught me since I was a young boy.  And to this day I have told people about the wonderful things you do!  Now I am old and my hair is gray, but don’t leave me, God.  I must tell the next generation about your power and greatness.
God, your goodness reaches far above the skies.  God, there is no god like you. You have done wonderful things.  You have let me see troubles and hard times, but you will give me new life; you will lift me up from this pit of death!  You will help me do even greater things. You will comfort me again!” — Psalms 71:17-21.  To that, we say, AMEN! — Anne and Dan

 

Dan and Andrea, our translator, present certificate of attendance for counselor training class

Dan and Andrea, our translator, present certificate of attendance for counselor training class in Sfantu Gheorghe, Romania. Those were happy days!

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

Weeks…Not Months A Calmer Day

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


