Why Is There Such a Need to Control???

May 18, 2009 at 7:01 am 1 comment

Behind much unhappiness is the fear that there is no way to control the situation.  The Dr. has told us that Dan only has a few weeks.  Shouldn’t that be enough to prepare me for what is going to happen to each one of us one day?  Today, Dan slept most of the day .  He has been doing that for 4 days because his body has not adjusted to taking the pain killer, morphine.  But today, I began to wonder if this sleep is the kind one has because the end is very near.  I want to know…be in control.

And, sure enough, I became very sad.  I went for a walk just before sunset. Walking very slowly, I analyzed every symptom Dan has…and fear crept in.  Behind most fear is the belief, “I won’t be okay.”  As I began to pray, I poured out my heart to God giving Him all my fears.  His love comforted me, helped me remember that God has always provided what Dan and I needed.  God will not abandon me now.  What is important is to remember that Dan has faithfully followed Jesus’ teachings for 63 years. He will be okay.  And it is important that I hold on to God the Father, Christ the Son, and the Holy Spirit.  All is well with us!  Pray for those who are grieving because Dan may leave us soon. — Anne and Dan

Dan and Attila always had something important to discuss. (Romania)

Dan and Attila always had something important to discuss. (Romania)

 

Andrea and Zoli are our translators, neighbors, helpers, and protect us in many ways.

Andrea and Zoli are our translators, neighbors, helpers, and protect us in many ways.

Reka and Alpar will do anything to help us when we are in Sfantu Gheoghe. We are so blessed.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

        Reka and Alpar help us in wonderful ways.

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

Saying “Good Byes” To Help You Understand the Journey

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dottie  |  May 18, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Anne,

    You will know when the time is very near. According to the book, No One Dies Alone, written by two hospice nurses and from my own experience of being with the dying, after the angels come, the time is close. Dan will be at perfect peace when the time comes. According to Debi Hooper, a Home Health Care Nurse, patients like Dan always reach a state of sublime peace before they die. I think God prepares us for our birth into eternity. Just pay very close attention – when Dan starts paying attention to something you cannot see, then the time is very near. I am praying for you and I send my love to you both.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


