A Much Better Day

May 22, 2009 at 5:33 am 1 comment

Today Dan’s thinking was clear, his breathing smoother though shallow;  he did not have heavy sweats.  He did have 100.4 F, terrible fluid build up in his torso as well as his legs, but not as much restlessness as yesterday.  We think that a slight change in the way we are using the pain medication is what made his breathing better…AND his oxygen level go up to 90!

Of course, I wonder…is this the burst of energy, the appearance of good health before the very rapid decline.  And, I ask myself, “Why does it matter?  Where is my trust in the Lord?”  God is allowing Dan to go Home…but leaving me behind.  I am too worldly, selfish.  I don’t want to be without my Dan.  As I write these words, I find that it is hard to breathe; my heart hurts. But I am never without God.  He is enough.

Today, Hospice had a hospital bed delivered for Dan.  It is right beside our bed, so we can hold hands as we go to sleep. Our son, his family, our guests, and I  worked very hard to rearrange the room so the bed will fit in there.  Some went shopping to find clothing that will fit Dan’s waist.  Dan can’t wear his regular trousers because of fluid buildup in his torso.  How long can his heart take the pressure if we can’t get the edema down?

But every day has good news.  Today, Dan’s oxygen level was at 90 and he felt better all day.  Yesterday was a frightening day, and today was a happy day.   While Scott was rearranging furniture, extension cords, shelves in the closets, Nurse Amber and I were “ordered” by Dan  to go to the beach.  We picked up spinach and feta cheese calzoni, coffee, and headed to the sunny, but cool beach for 2 hours!  

The highlight of the evening was a call from our daughter. It was good to talk with her.  

Marina sent the scripture for tonight for you to pick from http://www.365promises.com/144.aspx  She wrote: “My dearest brethren, let the Lord be your strength today and always! I hope the you’ll like these daily God’s promices! I love you! Marina.”  God is love, and He brings together those with hearts for Him so we can join together to let His light shine throughout the world.  In your struggles, it helps to have meaning in your life.  May glorifying God by your life give you meaning in your life. —  Anne and Dan


Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

Signs the End Is Near Dan Is Still with Us

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  May 23, 2009 at 11:55 am

    The Promises website is wonderful. Remembering and reciting God’s Promises helps us go through our grief successfully. I am very happy about your daughter calling you, and you having a good conversation with your daughter.

    Our love and prayers are with you each day. God is with your every minute of everyday. Jesus holds your hand through every trial, discomfort, and pain. The Holy Spirit fills your mind, heart, and life with heaven’s comfort. I pray you will feel God’s comforting presence with you at this time, so you can have Christ’s promised peace that goes beyond human comprehension.
    Love to you,
    Sherrie H.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


