The Valley Grows Darker

May 31, 2009 at 5:22 am Leave a comment

I forced myself to look at my agenda to see how long it has been since Dr. Jahan told us, “Dan has weeks, not months.”  Next Tuesday will be 3 weeks since he told us, “Weeks, not months.”  I want to know, “how many weeks will I have my Dan?”  But God is the only One who knows.  At dinner, Dan had such shortness of breath that he had to talk very slowly.  When the meal was over, I realized that Dan had eaten very little. Edd taught me to “look for the positive in every situation.”  The only Positive that I can see is that Dan will get to go Home very soon where cancer and death are defeated!  

People are asking, “Where will Dan’s funeral be?”  We have dear friends in so many places.  Dan has requested that we hold 3 memorial services – one here in Pacifica at the loving fellowship where our son and family attend, later one at RHCC in North Richland Hills, TX, where we were before we moved to Romania, and one in Hobart, Oklahoma, an area where many of Dan’s family live.  Dan’s father was the minister there, survived the building of the new church building before passing on to his reward at age 43.  

Burial will be at the little country cemetery near where Dan was born not far from Altus, Oklahoma.  His grandparents, parents and older brother are buried there.   They are in Heaven waiting for him.  All of Dan’s life he was a pilgrim like Abraham – going where God called him to serve.  Neither Dan nor I have an “old home place” to visit.  Our parents lived many places.  We never had opportunity to put down roots as children, or as adults.    That makes Heaven all the more desirable! 

“The Lord is my Shepherd…though I walk through the Valley of the Shadow of Death, I will fear no evil, for You are with me….”  — Anne and Dan

Mark and Debbie slept on the couch to be near Dan as long as possible.
Mark and Debbie slept on the couch to be near Dan as long as possible.

 

We Miss Our Volgograd Family

We Miss Our Volgograd Family

Who will help Miss Anne take care of us now?
Who will help Miss Anne take care of us now?
Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

Sonshine in our Souls Today Thankful

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories


