Thankful

June 1, 2009 at 8:21 am 3 comments

We are thankful for your prayers on our behalf.  Each day becomes harder and harder for Dan to breathe, to eat, to sit up, to lie down, to walk. My shoulder muscles are strained from trying to move him.  Each time I lift something weighing over a pound, my shoulders cry out.  Dying is an unlovely thing, but God is heaping blessings upon us each day.

Today, our Texas son, and our Texas daughter have accepted Dan’s invitation to come tell him, “Goodbye.”  They have plane reservations for next weekend.  I’m confident that he will do his best to be here when they come. 

Today, we were thrilled to have a Skype visit with our dear friend, Stuart, who went to Volgograd twice to help us teach in the Character for Kids program at Volgograd Pedagogical State University.  Then, we were blessed to also see and talk with Adolf and Reka.  Bogi sent us photos of her vacation in Romania – such a beautiful country!  And, this afternoon, I attended the terrific dance recital of our oldest California granddaughter.   Now, my friends, those are the things that a joyful life is made of. (We were sad that we did not hear the phone ring when our oldest granddaughter phoned from Texas.  Dan hopes to phone her on Monday.)

Today when I asked Dan what scriptures he wants read at his Memorial Services, he grinned and said, “Phillippians!”  That has long been my favorite book in the Bible.  He has chosen the last part of Chapter 3 and the first part of Chapter 4.  Do yourself a favor and read that short book in the Bible. It is just after Ephesians in the New Testament.  —  Anne and Dan

She read LUKE with Rosemarie.  Rosemarie will be in Sfantu Gheorghe in September!

She read LUKE with Rosemarie. Rosemarie will be in Sfantu Gheorghe in September!

 

 

After eating barbecue, we hiked up the hill to check on Reka's uncle who was cutting hay on the mountain side with a sythe.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Communists took her uncle's tractor.  When they left, they did not give a replacement.  He rakes the hay with a huge wooden rake up high in the mountains.

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

The Valley Grows Darker Stretching to Focus on the Positive

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ann Bankes  |  June 1, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Precious Anne and Dan,
    I arrived home from AUS and have caught up on your blog. My heart is so full of sadness and joy that Dan will soon see our Lord face to face. It just seems like yesterday that I was praying and feeling the same as my Dad went home to Him. Dying is a very unlovely thing and I know exactly why you can say that. Just know that I love you both and you are in my heart and prayers day and night.

    Reply
  • 2. Fern Doyle  |  June 1, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    Anne, Saturday morning after I read your blog, I told Dale that Dan was waiting on something or someone before he would let go. Maybe those Texas children is it. I think he will be waiting for them.

    May God shower his richest blessings on all involved.
    Much love and peace to Anne & Dan

    Reply
  • 3. Csilla Varga  |  June 1, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Dear Anne and Dan!
    The passages from the Phillippians are very beautifull.
    I hope with all my heart that Dan will wait for your children to come from Texas. Than it will be peace in his soul.
    Today we were together with Jutka and her family: we celebrated Jutka’s birthday(it was on 21th of may, when she was in Budapest) and we attended a folk-dance recital of Tamás and his school-mates, for today was the children’s day. He did it well. I will send you some photos by e-mail.
    You are in our prayers all the time.
    Dear Anne, thank you both for being part of my life!
    Love you
    Csilla

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930