Facing Reality

June 14, 2009 at 8:22 am 2 comments

Dan is Home, but not home where we are.  I keep thinking in the back of my mind that he is just “away,” that he will phone, or walk in the door soon.  But in reality, I know that the love of my life, the boy, who became my Christian mentor when I was only 15 and he was 16, is not ever going to walk through any door on this earth.

It’s been hard to go to bed at night ever since Dan was first struck down by sarcoma cancer.  There was some sort of confused thinking that I had to be awake in case he needed me, that he might die while I was asleep.  Fatigue always took over, and I’d force myself to get in bed.  Now, my bed is empty except for me…and I still don’t want to go to bed.  Waking up each morning to discover all over again that Dan is gone is so very painful.  While I have his teachings to be an intentional Follower of Christ in my heart, I will never again see his face on this earth.

One friend who lost a son comforted me with these words, ” Thankfully God does take the sharp edge of the grief away with time. Of course it never goes away, but becomes less heavy. ”  Another wrote, “You never get over the loss, but God helps you get through it.” 

What also helps me get through it is the loving acceptance and care I am receiving from our son and his family where we’ve been living the last six months, and the caring, encouraging phone calls, e-mails and Skype conversations coming from dear “family” around the world.  We are so blessed.  Dan is free of pain, Home forever with God, Jesus and all the saints who have gone on before us.  And, I am surrounded by loving kindnesses.

Maria wrote today, “Let’s read together Ps.23, it’s so dear to me:
  ‘ The Lord is my shepherd.
   I will always have everything I need.
   He lets me lie down in green pastures.
   He leads me by calm pools of water.
   He gives new strength to my soul
      for the good of his name.
   He leads me on paths of goodness,
      to show he is truly good.
   Even if I walk through a valley as dark as the grave,
   I will not be afraid of any danger.
   Why? Because you are with me,Lord.
   Your rod and staff comfort me.
   Lord,you prepared my table
       in front of my enemies.
   You poured oil on my head.
    My cup is full and spilling over.
    Goodness and mercy will be with me the rest  of my life.
    And I will sit in the Lord’s temple for a long, long time. ”

Da,Domnul e pastorul meu… Let’s say I’m there with you,and I can hug you and kiss you.

    We love you, continue to pray for you and wait you come home.
        GOD BLESS YOU!
                         Maria and the kids”

Maria and the Kids at Robi's graduation dinner

Maria and the Kids at Robi's graduation dinner

Entry filed under: 1.

The Second Day After Memorial Services for Dan

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  June 14, 2009 at 11:34 am

    IN TIME OF SORROW
    –Author Unknown–

    “May you see God’s light on the path ahead
    When the road you walk is dark.

    May you always hear,
    Even in your hour of sorrow,
    The gentle singing of the lark.

    When times are hard may hardness
    never turn your heart to stone.

    May you always remember
    When the shadows fall–
    You do not walk alone.”
    ********************************
    IRISH BLESSING

    “If God sends you down a stony path,
    May He give you strong shoes.
    May the light of heaven shine on your grave.
    May the smile of God light you to glory.”

    Reply
  • 2. Fern Doyle  |  June 14, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Anne, I simply cannot image what it would be like going through life without Dale. Therefore, my prayers and thoughts are with you that you will be given sufficient courage, strength and confidence to face each new day and each new challenge. Wish I could be there for one of the memorials. I do hope and pray that we will get to see you again in the future. We love you and appreciate your tender loving care for Dan all those months.

    Take good care of yourself, get some rest and enjoy all those beautiful memories you have.
    Fern

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

