God Will Turn Your Mourning into Gladness

June 21, 2009 at 7:11 am Leave a comment

Life still seems surreal – I am feeling better, but it is so strange that Dan is not here. There is a a big hole in my middle that only God can fill.  Yet I had a pleasant day for the most part. (I did not make time to pay bills.  I MUST do that.)  Herman, Dan’s cousin’s husband, is going to preside over the memorial service in Oklahoma.  Herman called today to finalize the plans for the service there Monday, June 29. During our long conversation, he said words that gave me much comfort.

Then Dan’s cousin, Fern, called from her home in Florida.  She has been so supportive of us, and, now, supportive of me.  It’s a blessing to have family who care about us.  Julia, a young teen, Skyped me from Spain.  She wants to know what she can send to help the children of Romania.  She is making a web page too.

This afternoon, I walked in the cool, partly sunny weather over to the lovely Goose and Turrets Bed and Breakfast to have tea and stimulating, friendly conversation with the owners, Raymond and Emily.  What a pleasant, relaxing experience!  After dinner which was provided by a good friend of the family, I went to a Celtic harp concert in Pacifica with some  ladies from church.  It was an almost normal day except that normal days for me never included making plans for my husband’s memorial service.

Of course, the harp players had CDs for sale at intermission. When Marsha told me that one CD had a song with the title, “Ballad for Dan,” I burst into tears.  Marsha took me in her arms and let me cry right there in the middle of the crowd of concert goers.  When I examined the list of songs on that CD, not only was there a ballad for Dan…there was a song for Ann.  I almost started crying again.  Needless to say, I bought the CD.  Life goes on.  God promised that the day will come when He will turn our mourning into gladness.  I can see a little bit more of gladness in my life.  One day, with God’s help, there will be much gladness. 

      “Hear the word of the LORD, O nations;  proclaim it in distant coastlands: 

        He who scattered Israel will gather them,  and will watch over his flock like a shepherd – for the LORD will ransom            Jacob and redeem them from the hand of those stronger than they.

       They will come and shout for joy on the heights of Zion; 
       they will rejoice in the bounty of the LORD—
       the grain, the new wine and the oil, 
       the young of the flocks and herds. 
       They will be like a well-watered garden, 
       and they will sorrow no more.

      Then maidens will dance and be glad, 
       young men and old as well. 
       I will turn their mourning into gladness; 
       I will give them comfort and joy instead of sorrow.” – Jeremiah 31: 10 – 13

— Anne

Many yards have beautiful, interesting flowers

Many yards have beautiful, interesting flowers

Rodger helped these girls improve their conversational English.  He will be part of the Let's Start Talking Team in Sfantu Gheorghe, Romania, in October!

Rodger helped these girls improve their conversational English. He will be part of the Let's Start Talking Team in Sfantu Gheorghe, Romania, in October!

Dan helped Anamaria improve her conversational English!

Dan helped Anamaria improve her conversational English!

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

A Walk in the Sunshine God Surprised Me with Joy After the Shadows

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

