God Surprised Me with Joy After the Shadows

June 22, 2009 at 8:04 am 2 comments

Last night, I quoted Jeremiah 31:13, “He shall turn their sadness into joy….”  I did not know He would keep His promise so soon.  But I’m getting ahead of the story.  Today was Father’s Day.  I awoke with shadows over me – this was the First Father’s Day without Dan.  We had celebrated Father’s Day since 1956 when our first child was almost one year old.  Fifty-two years builds up a strong tradition of joy and thankfulness on Father’s Day.

A pall hung over me all day. Very quiet,  I didn’t even mention that after church I had to get one of the elders to help close the top on my little 9 year old Saab convertible when it got stuck partly open.  Then, at 6 p.m., my son knocked on the door to my room.  “Mom, we’re going down for a thing at Linda Mar Beach.”  Curious, I just listened.  Then, with a big smile on his face, he said, “We’re going to have a baptism!”

His 16 year old daughter, while studying the Bible, came to understand much about the teachings of Jesus in Matthew, Mark, Luke and John.  By reading the book of Acts, she now understands what people did in the first century that changed them from ordinary people into true Christians = intentional followers of Christ.  

She thought seriously about the meaning of Matthew 28:  18-19,  “Jesus said to the disciples, ‘All authority in Heaven and on earth has been given to me.  Go, therefore, and make disciples of all nations, immersing them in water in the name of the Father, the Son and the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey all things I have commanded you.  And, surely, I am with you always to the very end of the age.”

She took to heart Acts 2: 36 – 39, telling about the message on the day of Pentecost when Peter said to the crowd, “…I say to you, God has made this Jesus, whom you crucified, both Lord and Christ.”  When the people heard this, they were cut to the heart and said to Peter and the other apostles, “Brothers, what shall we do?”  Peter replied, “Repent and be baptized (buried in water), every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins.  And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.  The promise is for you and your children and for all who are far off….”

Praying for God’s guidance, she decided to follow Jesus.  My granddaughter is now also my sister in Christ.  Dan is rejoicing with the angels over this precious soul who has been added to the church by God.  God kept His promise…He drove away the shadows and turned my sorrow into joy.  — Anne

Father and daughter walked into the Pacific to baptize her into

Father and daughter walked into the Pacific to baptize her into Christ.

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

God Will Turn Your Mourning into Gladness Going Forward

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dottie  |  June 22, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    God is good! I’m happy for you, for your granddaughter and for her parents and siblings. Yes, God is good!

    Reply
  • 2. Charla Arnold  |  June 23, 2009 at 3:58 am

    OH ANNE! What a legacy you and Dan have left for your precious family! There could never be a greater gift. What a blessing that you were there to witness the new Birth. I can’t even imagine the Excitement and Party in Heaven for her commitment, and for the cycle of Life. I love you. Charla

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

