The God of All Comfort

June 23, 2009 at 9:51 pm Leave a comment

On this day, Tuesday, 23 June, Dan’s ashes are in the house with us.  The cremation has taken place..  I cannot push my feelings down deep inside me today.  I know where his earthly remains are…they are simply ashes.  He is not here.  He is alive.  He cannot come to us, but God has provided a way for us to go to Dan, to spend eternity with God and Dan.    

Walking on the beautiful beach, talking to God, my peace was interrupted by a big boxer that ran up behind me full force and slammed my back hard.  (It is a law that all dogs on Montara Beach must be kept on a leash but some people do not like laws.  Their pets are more important than people.)  I’m hoping that one trip to the chiropractor for an adjustment will fix the problem.I really needed comfort.

Two things happened:  First, a young minister and his beautiful family were on the beach.  Even though he did not see me get hit, he stopped to ask, “How are you?”  This led to he and his wife praying over me for healing of my back, and for my sorrow over losing Dan.  They prayed for my work and loved ones in Romania.  He invited me to come speak to their Women’s Group about God’s work in Romania.  Do you see?  My suffering led to prayers being offered to God for all those who are hurting over losing Dan, and for everyone in the entire country of Romania.

The God of All Comfort spoke to me Tthrough this message that came today:

“Judy and I received the news of Dan’s passing with the mixed feelings.    

May the God of Heaaen and Earth Comfort You

May the God of Heaaen and Earth Comfort You

We were saddened for you and the entire family, yet consoled knowing
that he has now fulfilled God’s purpose for his life.  I know he is
with the Lord, which gives those of us who wait hope for a grand
reunion.

I do hope that will comfort and sustain you in the days ahead.  I must
tell you that it was Dan whom God used to help me come to more fully
appreciate II Cor. 1, where the apostle Paul speaks of the “God of all
comfort”
.  I’m sure that he reminded his audiences of that many times,
but for us, it was at the time when Ron Keller was suddenly and
unexpectedly taken from us.  I offer it to you now in the hope that it
will bless you just as it has us.

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father
of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our
troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort
we ourselves have received from God.” II Corinthians 1

Most lovingly,  Mike and Judy ” 

Sharing a meal  after worshipping together in Sfantu Gheorghe

Sharing a meal after worshipping together in Sfantu Gheorghe

 

 

To that, I say, “Amen!”  — Anne

 

Some of you helped Dan give Bibles to the children in Sfantu Gheorghe, RO

Some of you helped Dan give Bibles to the children in Sfantu Gheorghe, RO

Entry filed under: Cancer's Dark Valley.

Going Forward Another Day Has Passed

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

