Another Day Has Passed

June 25, 2009 at 7:55 am 3 comments

 

Robert Boyd Family (Dan, 17 years old is on the right)

Robert Boyd Family (Dan, 17 years old is on the right)

The best news of the day is that Jonathan Storment, minister who is to preside over Dan’s Memorial service has arranged for Thomas Addudell to lead the congregational singing during the service.   He used to sing with the professional singing group, Acappella. He CAN sing!

 

The good news is that I made it through this very foggy day.  Tuesday was sunny and warm enough for children to play in the Pacific Ocean.  Today, a blanket of fog covered the coastal side of Montara Mountain.  Fog affects me like cloudy weather does…I want to lie down and sleep.  I have what is known as Seasonal Affective Disorder except that it is not seasonal with me.  When there are clouds, or high pollution, or fog, I feel very tired.  So, I wore my light cap until the battery ran down.  Then, I used my little portable light box several times.

 Around 6 p.m., I drove the 10 minutes over the mountain to Pacifica.  Sure enough, there was lovely sunshine.  Maybe next time there is fog or cloudy weather, I’ll go over the mountain, take my MacBook, go to Starbucks so I can have some coffee while I work.  Later, take a walk in a park in Pacifica.

There are now 101 photos selected for a slideshow running before and after the Memorial Services.  All we have to do is find out what kind of equipment the churches have so we know what form to put the photos in.  I found some good photos of Dan on his computer that I don’t have on my computer.  If I were a technical person, I’d have that all worked out.  Maybe one of the grandkids can help me do that tomorrow?  It will all work out.  

Tonight’s scripture is from Revelation 14, “6Then I saw another angel flying in midair, and he had the eternal gospel to proclaim to those who live on the earth—to every nation, tribe, language and people. 7He said in a loud voice, “Fear God and give him glory, because the hour of his judgment has come. Worship him who made the heavens, the earth, the sea and the springs of water….

13Then I heard a voice from heaven say, “Write: Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord from now on.” 
      “Yes,” says the Spirit, “they will rest from their labor, for their deeds will follow them.”  

Be happy for Dan.  He died in the Lord.  His work is finished.  He can rest now.  — Anne

Ahhh, that good Romanian food!

Ahhh, that good Romanian food!

Dan's siblings came to see him in Texas before first surgery.

Dan's siblings came to see him in Texas before first surgery.

Entry filed under: 1.

The God of All Comfort It’s Really Friday Morning 2:00

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vicki W.  |  June 25, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    It’s very evident that God’s grace is carrying you through these days with things like finding the lovely sunshine, the special pictues and memories, and the people involved in the memorial service. God is good!

    I wanted to share a promise from my morning’s devotional:

    “Then Jesus said, ‘I am the bread that gives life. No one who comes to me will ever be hungry. No one who believes in me will ever be thirsty.” John 6:35

    Reply
  • 2. Nancy Lawrence  |  June 26, 2009 at 5:53 am

    Anne, would you like me to call and find out what format is required at RHCC? I could do that in the morning. I’m not sure what time your flight is.

    Another thought. Do you have the pictures in one document, in a slide show, in .jpeg? If it’s not too large, you could email it to me and I could take it to the church to make sure everything works.

    Do you know how many family and out-of-town visitors you will have for the meal? Tommy and I are going to help and we want to make sure we have plenty.

    Do you know of any special food requirements? Vegetarian, etc.

    Please let us know if there is anything you can think of that you need us to help with. We are looking forward to a wonderful celebration of Dan’s life. He, along with you by his side, did great things.

    God bless you and peace for your travels. Nancy

    Reply
  • 3. Sherrie Hammond  |  June 27, 2009 at 1:07 pm

    In the family photo, I think, Dan looks like his dad and smiles like his mother. A tremendous happy smile! Great photos in the e-photo album! I enjoy viewing all your experiences and adventures online. Thank you for sharing.
    Love,
    Sherrie Hammond

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

