The Firm Foundation

July 5, 2009 at 5:07 am Leave a comment

Today was more like a “normal” Saturday.  All that was missing was Dan.  Judy prepared a lovely breakfast for Rosemarie and me; we sat and talked for a long time; we went together to Dottie’s to pack the rest of my things at her house; we went to lunch at Appleby’s; we unloaded my things from the minivan (with one lady holding one end of a suitcase, and another holding the other end).  Then we all went to our beds and took a nap…except that I did not have enough energy to get up until 830 p.m. (20:30).

After a week of temperatures of 99 – 100 F (40 C + – ), and high pollution…a week in which we placed Dan’s ashes in the earth, and packed the last of our things that we had in Ft. Worth, I am exhausted…physically and mentally.

But I am filled with thankfulness for all the wonderful people that God has moved to step up to help me, and for all the people who are now praying for me – a new widow floundering in a world full of change and challenges.   I have a Firm Foundation Who supports me.

In God Calling, by Bruce, this message gave me renewed strength:

“I am the Firm Foundation on which you can dance and sing and celebrate My Presence.  This is My high and holy calling for you; receive it as a precious gift.  Glorifying and enjoying Me is a higher priority than maintaining a tidy, structured life.  Give up your striving to keep everything under control–an impossible task and a waste of precious energy.

My guidance for each of My children is unique.  That’s why listening to Me is so vital for your well-being.  Let me prepare you for the day that awaits you and point you in the right direction.  I am with you continually, so don’t be intimidated by fear.  Though it stalks you, it cannot harm you, as long as you cling to My hand.  Keep your eyes on Me, enjoying Peace in My Presence.” (Based upon Psalm 5; Ephesians 3:20-21; Jude 24; Joshua 3:5)

Small miracles today – companionship on a National Holiday that I always spent with Dan; even though my exhausted brain did not work well, there was help with packing; Judy walked me through paying a bill online.  God showed me that He will provide all my needs because I chose Jesus for my Firm Foundation. —  Anne

Entry filed under: Finding Direction Without Dan.

Adjusting to Change Why Am I So Afraid?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

