The Best Solution

July 7, 2009 at 5:17 am 3 comments

The time to return to California has arrived.  I board the plane Tuesday 11:40 a.m.  This has been the best of times and the worst of times.  Loving friends have filled my time here with blessings to help me during the newness of being without Dan.  I leave with some things unresolved.  Since I am not a mind reader or a magician, I do not understand.  Nor do I know how to fix broken relationships that do not want to be mended.

Looking forward, I do my best to leave these things in the hands of God.  The best solution to a broken heart is to keep on praying, giving your pain to God, as you seek His guidance, listening for His answers as you read His Word…and choosing to follow Him.

“Jesus spoke to His disciples to show them that they should always pray and not give up. He said: ‘In a certain town there was a judge who neither feared God nor cared about men. And there was a widow in that town who kept coming to him with the plea, ‘Grant me justice against my adversary.’

” For some time he refused. But finally he said to himself, ‘Even though I don’t fear God or care about men, yet because this widow keeps bothering me, I will see that she gets justice, so that she won’t eventually wear me out with her coming!’ ”

 And the Lord said, ‘Listen to what the unjust judge says.  And will not God bring about justice for his chosen ones, who cry out to him day and night? Will he keep putting them off?  I tell you, he will see that they get justice, and quickly. However, when the Son of Man comes, will he find faith on the earth?’ ” Luke 18: 1 – 8.  Think on these things.  Let God help you.  Will you be one of the intentional followers of Jesus when He comes again?  — Anne

Entry filed under: 1.

Why Am I So Afraid? In Memory of Dan Boyd

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carolyn White  |  July 7, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    Dear, dear Anne,
    Words fail. I checked your blog a week ago or so and learned of Dan’s death. I am so sorry for your pain, and thankful for Dan’s Joy. I will have to look and see if I can find an address for you somewhere to send a letter. I didn’t realize you were still in DFW, and wasn’t aware of the memorials here for Dan. I feel so badly about that. A communication breakdown somewhere, I guess. You are in my prayers. love in Christ, carolyn white

    Reply
  • 2. Janie Chambless  |  July 8, 2009 at 1:49 am

    Anne, I hope as you return home you will be able to get into your routine and work with your grief and yet find joy in God’s comfort as He holds and ministers to you. I am so sorry I missed Dan’s memorial..I had an unexpected hospital admittance during that time period. I did pray for the service and that it would be a celebration of his life and the joy of his work. I think of you often and you are in my prayers. It is so hard being the survivor.
    Your sister in Christ,
    Janie Chambless

    Reply
  • 3. Nancy Lawrence  |  July 8, 2009 at 3:30 am

    So glad you made it home. I hope you are able to rest for a week. I know there are things to be done but things will be there after you have had a chance to rest. We will be but a prayer away. I am feeling a little apprehensive about your first trip to Romania without Dan (I hope you know I mean that with love). I just can’t believe the support group there will be as strong as here. And, it’s going to be hard work — which you’re not afraid of — but will take a lot of your strength. Listen to me being the worrying mother instead of the faithful prayer partner. I will commit your work to the Lord and if there is a reason for you to tary, He will give you a sign. You will do okay. You will have the peace that passeth all understanding. You will know there are several starting and ending each day with you on their heart (count me). Take care, sweet lady, tomorrow will be here before you know. Take baby steps the rest of the week. Wrapping arms of love. Tommy and Nancy and Traci

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

