In Memory of Dan Boyd

July 8, 2009 at 10:13 am Leave a comment

100 LITTLE  THOUGHTS

ABOUT GOD, MAN AND

SOCIETY

 

about subjects I had the privilege to discuss with my dear friend, Dan Boyd, during 48 years.  — Dr. Dick van Geet, Utrecht, Holland

 

THE ABSENT GOD

Sometimes  people say:  ‘I never perceive something from God’.  But probably their ‘telephone’  is always engaged.  We are so busy with other things !

 AID

If it is true that every human being has eternal value this would mean that saving one man is as important as saving the whole world.

 ART

What marks the difference between real art and kitch ? One important distinguishing mark is this: if we look at or listen longer to the former,  we appreciate it increasingly. Kitch however is increasingly boring the more we hear or see it.

 ATHEÏSM

1. Atheïsts are people who disprove something they have invented themselves. The god they reject does not exist indeed. From the real God they have no idea.

2. Some people cannot believe in a God because they cannot imagine there might be things beyond the abilities of their sense-organs (Thomas !). Without any good argument they consider these organs as absolute.   

 BIBLE

 1. The Bible is Gods Word. But of course not meant to replace the Living Christ. It is not meant as a code of law

 2. How important it is, if there is a living God we should not only pay attention to what He said and did 2000 years ago, but also do it.

(to be continued)

I returned to California Tuesday, 07/07/09.  This message came in while I was pondering what to share on my blog…I was asking myself, “Should I share my feelings of despair and loneliness, or maybe just share the words to the song, “My God, He Is Alive.”  Then Dick’s message arrived. My feelings of despair dissolved.  I knew immediately that this is what I must share.   God bless.  — Anne

Entry filed under: A Word from Dan, Finding Direction Without Dan.

The Best Solution In Memory of Dan – Part 2

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

