In Memory of Dan, Part 4

July 11, 2009 at 6:00 am 1 comment

100 Little Thoughts about God,

Man and Society

by Dr. Dick van Geet, Utrecht, Holland

COMPARISON

 1. We know that different things could not be compared; like we say: ‘one cannot compare pears with apples’. But although we state that every man and every woman is unique we nevertheless compare ourself constantly with others! 

 2. Who stops comparing himself with others will make his life a lot happier.

 

DEATH

1. We do not really believe in death.

Mortality of man is an obvious thing. But sometimes we seem hardly to realize that we will die ourself one day. That is something for other people.

 2. Death is both natural and unnatural.

 3. A true religion should encompass an explanation of everything (insofar understandable for human beings). Especially of finiteness: why something like ‘death’ exists. Christianity includes this explanation; most other religions just start reasoning from death as a given fact. This means they are reasoning on the basis of too few dimensions.

 4. Why is death necessary?

Evil is inherent to mankind. This means that if men would live forever on this earth, evil would get a permanent, absolute, everlasting, undestroyable status. In the end the evil would, like weeds, overgrow everything. It would be hard to live forever in an evil world,  The endless imperfect would be impossible to endure. That is why death became necessary in the moment that evil came into the world.

 5. Dying means that my body is no longer capable to hold me.

 6. Is it not illogical if people who say that they believe firmly in heavenly beatitude are afraid of death ?

 (to be continued)

About Anne –  Today when I took a break from all the accounting work, I took a walk along the path Scott made for Dan in the garden beside the house.  I came upon the tree swing.  I sat down and began to swing…remembering the many times over the years that Dan and I had taken walks in parks where we sat in the swings, swinging high.  I loved the swinging more than Dan did.  Often he would push me.  But swinging is a significant part of my life.  As all those memories began to come, the locked up tears began to flow.  I will return to that swing more often. — Anne

 

The latest fashion in the 70's...sideburns and polyester plaid suits.

The latest fashion in the 70's...sideburns and polyester plaid suits.

 

Grandson asked, "Who is that?"  Why, it's Dan & Anne at the Rancho Mirage, CA, Ritz Carlton, in the early 70's!

Grandson asked, "Who is that?" Why, it's Dan & Anne at the Rancho Mirage, CA, Ritz Carlton, in the early 70's!

Entry filed under: A Word from Dan.

IN MEMORY OF DAN, Part 3 In Memory of Dan, Part 5

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  July 11, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    Anne,
    I love these photos!!! The photos make me smile. Wow, aren’t you both the beautiful and handsome couple of the year! You look very successful. The ’70’s fashions look so funny to us now, but they were “all the rage” of popularity back in the day, weren’t they. I think you look gorgeous! I have a few of my own ’70’s photos that are quite hilarious to view now, but I thought I looked pretty good back then.

    I love swinging too. I am happy you had a good time swinging, and also got rid of some of your grief during that refreshing time outdoors. The ’70’s photos look very much like you were indeed “the swinging couple” of the year. [I’m Smiling!] And the Ritz Carlton … WOW . . . you guys were really living high and successful! I love the photos. Thank you for sharing your memories with us.

    Love you,
    Sherrie H.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

