A Day with Almost No Work

July 20, 2009 at 8:25 am 2 comments

Today, I gave myself permission to take care of myself.  I was blessed by a lesson this morning from Philippians.  After church, I fixed a quick lunch of grilled cheese sandwich and fresh strawberries before going to a lecture and slide show about two of my favorite artists, Georgia O’Keefe, and the photographer, Ancil Adams.  I did a little packing preparing for my Aug. 11 departure for Romania. I rested, visited with friends of the family, had a long phone visit with our eldest son that blessed me greatly.

And now it is late, but I want to give you a word from the lesson this morning.  We can be encouraged because Scripture teaches us that we can choose intentional living – Phil. 3:10.  Do you remember Dan talking about choosing to be an intentional follower of Jesus?  We can choose to forget/let go/release what happened in our past, and reach for what is ahead. vs.13. Let go of disagreements with others, and unite with them, being “sweetly reasonable.”  Learn to be gracious; let go of thriving on strict justice.  We can have hope because the Lord is near to us.  By praying, letting God know what you need, you can have hope.  Let your mind dwell on those things that are excellent, worthy of praise.  And the God of Peace will be with you.  Philippians 3: 10 – 14, and Philippians 4:1-8.

I need peace.  I choose to follow the instructions in Phiippians.  Will you join me in this?  — Anne

Dan found peace in God's creation...the Romanian Alps, and good friends.

Dan found peace in God's creation...the Romanian Alps, and good friends.

When Samuel came all the way from Ghana to say, "I'll see you in the Morning," Dan felt a peace.  The two were very close brothers.

When Samuel came all the way from Ghana to say, "I'll see you in the Morning," Dan felt a peace. The two were very close brothers.

We often watched the sunset together - sharing the beauty of God's handiwork, brought us peace and joy.

We often watched the sunset together - sharing the beauty of God's handiwork, brought us peace and joy.

Entry filed under: but Not Alone.

And the Lord Said… A Foggy Day

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Nancy  |  July 27, 2009 at 1:50 am

    Anne, I pray for peace for you today and as you prepare for your new journey. As familiar as it will be, I know it will be so different as you walk without Dan by your side. My prayer is that while he is not with you in body, that you will always have the special memories of the times you walked those streets together — hand in hand and heart to heart. You’ll be okay but it’s going to take time. Peace, sweet friend. Nancy

    Reply
    • 2. godschildrenorg  |  July 27, 2009 at 6:40 am

      Nancy, You speak to my heart. I know it will be so different without Dan. Thank you for giving me a positive picture to help me deal with the pain that will come walking those streets, stopping at the ice cream shop, being in church, eating meals, doing everything without Dan. (I like the $1 a month plan, or better just go ahead and give the billing office Dan’s forwarding address!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

