Forty Days Later

July 22, 2009 at 7:22 am 1 comment

Can it possibly be 40 days since my Dan went Home?  The only times he was away 40 days or more was when we were engaged, – he worked summers on construction crews in Alaska.   Those were long summers.  But, this is different.  He doesn’t write letters to me daily like he did when he was in Alaska.  It is becoming clear to me that the last time I saw him, there was no breath of life in him.  When I look at photos of his last days, I see a strong man whose body was ravaged by cancer.

Then, I can remember why I am glad that he has gone Home. As much as I want his wisdom, his strength, his love in my life, I did not want him suffering any longer.  I could tell him, “It’s alright for you to go now. I’ll be alright.  Just let go.  The angels are waiting to carry you Home.”   He is free from pain.  He is strong again.  He is Home.  Even though I hurt so deeply, I know I will be okay.  God has promised to defend the cause of the widows. (Deuteronomy 10:18)  God has always been faithful to keep His promises.

Tonight, God spoke to me through Deuteronomy 33: 24-27:  “There is no one like the God of Jeshurun, who rides on the heavens to help you and on the clouds in His majesty.  The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms.  He will drive out your enemy before you saying, “Destroy him!”  We are safe.  We will be okay because of God’s promises. — Anne

Sfantu Gheorghe, Romania, overlooking God's Sugash Valley

Sfantu Gheorghe, Romania, overlooking God's Sugash Valley

Dan loved to study God's Word...he said God's Word helped make him the man he became.

Dan loved to study God's Word...he said God's Word helped make him the man he became.

Dan baptized hundreds into Christ

Dan baptized hundreds into Christ

Dan loved his brother and sisters.  They came all the way from Oklahoma to Texas, and to California to help us.

Dan loved his brother and sisters. They came all the way from Oklahoma to Texas, and to California to help us.

Entry filed under: but Not Alone.

A Foggy Day An Encouraging Word

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jeanie Mercer  |  July 22, 2009 at 12:37 pm

    Anne, the number “40” has always had a special significance in the history of God’s people. Here’s an interesting and hopeful quote by an unknown scribe: “A 40-something time period, whether days, months, or years is ALWAYS a period of testing, trial, probation, or chastisement (but not judgment) and ends with a period of restoration, revival or renewal.” May God grant you a long, upward period of restoration, revival and renewal.

    You write beautifully in your grief.

    Love, Jeanie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

