Life Is Like a Twisting Mountain Road

July 24, 2009 at 6:58 am 1 comment

Driving along the curving, twisting highway beside the Pacific and over Montara Mountain today, I was struck by the fact that now I drive that road with the greatest of ease.  The fog floating and drifting around the mountains made everything seem magical…like I was living in a dream world.  Was that really me, driving a 9 year old black Saab sports convertible in the mountains through the mist with the ocean right beside me?

Sounds like a person who has everything?  In a way, I do.  It’s just that there’s a great big hole in my middle. I miss Dan.  The only way that hole can ever heal is if I let God fill it with His love.  Another way to help the hole heal is to do good things for other people with no expectation of getting anything in return…I like to say, “Be Jesus with skin on.”

While I was on the other side of the mountain, I did a little shopping for things to take with me to Romania on Aug. 11.  While I found no joy in putting my budget on a spread sheet on my MacBook, I am happy that I will soon be back in the last place Dan and I called “home.”   I will do the work to prepare to go.  God is with me, leading me where He wants me to be.  Please, pray that He will provide the funds I need to serve Him in Romania, and that I will always listen – following Him no matter how twisting and sharp the curves in the road may be.   If we keep our eyes on our Shepherd, we’ll get pretty good at managing the mountain roads in our life. To have a mountain top experience, first, you have to climb a mountain. — Anne

“Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?” And I said, “Here am I. Send me!” Isaiah 6:8.

The mist began to announce itself.

The mist began to announce itself.

The next moment, the fog was covering the mountain top. But God saw through the fog.

The next moment, the fog was covering the mountain top. But God saw us through the fog.

Entry filed under: but Not Alone.

An Encouraging Word A Foggy Day Can Still Have Joy

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lil Kwast  |  July 27, 2009 at 12:48 am

    Anne, I believe that when you get back to your home in Romania, you will find Dan there. Wait and see.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

