Wrapping Up

July 26, 2009 at 8:18 am 2 comments

Sometime the bills for Dan’s medical care will surely stop coming.  I hope I paid the last one tonight.  Oh, I just remembered…there are two bills for regular doctor’s appointments that Medicare won’t pay because Dan was in Hospice Care. The charge for each visit was over $500 apiece…to sit and talk.  No one told us that Dan could only see Hospice doctors.  If our Secondary Insurance won’t pay it, I’m going to call the doctors myself and ask that they adjust the bills downward.

Tonight, I even filled in the survey questionnaire sent by the Plastic Surgery Department at UCSF giving them a good to very good rating in all areas.  I paid for my plane ticket to Texas for the Memorial Service.   I paid the bill for shipping 4 boxes of our things to California, 2 huge boxes to Searcy to go in the 40′ container going to the Covasna County Red Cross (in Sfantu Gheorghe, Romania), 3 boxes of my counseling books, winter clothing, and a few household items headed to Romania.

I still have to phone one credit card company to report a charge on one of Dan’s cards after he passed.  I don’t use that card.  (He certainly did not buy something a month after he left this earth. He has everything he needs where he is!)  I list all these things to give those of you who have not gone through being a caregiver and losing a loved one an idea of what it is like.

The fog continued all morning.  About noon, the sun broke through for an hour or two.  I made myself set my work aside and went for a walk.  Stopping at the coffee shop, I found a book to read and sat in the sunshine on the patio until the clouds hid the sun completely.  This afternoon, the fog began to roll back in from the ocean.  Ah, well, that’s life here on the northern Pacific Coast.  Perhaps the best news today is that for dinner we had the most delicious homemade pizzas that have ever touched my lips!  There are several good cooks in this household!

Tonight, I quote from God Calling, by A. J. Russell again, “Jesus, you are watching over us to bless and care for us.”  “Yes, remember that always–that out of darkness I am leading you to the Light.  Out of unrest to rest.  Out of disorder to order.  Out of faults and failure to perfection.”….Fear nothing.  Hope ever.  Look ever up to me and I will be your sure aid.”

Thank you, Jesus.  — Anne

Lovely gardens are all around here.

Lovely gardens are all around here.

The gardens add much joy to my walks..when I can get outside.

The gardens add much joy to my walks..when I can get outside.

Entry filed under: but Not Alone.

A Foggy Day Can Still Have Joy Sunshine, Then…Fog Filled My Heart

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lil Kwast  |  July 27, 2009 at 12:55 am

    Don’t be surprised if you get yet more bills. I recently received a summary from Medicare (for my mother) that showed charges claimed for home health services provided in April 2008. And this is July 2009. Just take it slow, do what you can, and take care of yourself first of all. Love you.

    Reply
  • 2. Nancy Lawrence  |  July 27, 2009 at 2:03 am

    Anne, I think a call to the doctor’s office might work. We do a terrible disservice to elderly patients in the US. When my Mom was ill, I spent hours on doctor bills and insurance, etc. If she had been required to handle, she would have decided it wasn’t worth the fight and given up. You were blessed to spend the last hours with Dan loving him. I believe if we owe something we should pay it, but really the charges may be dropped if you explain the situation. Tell them you’ll take a payment plan — $1.00 a month or if they need payment sooner, send the bill to Dan c/o Heaven. Love you lots. Peace be with you. Nancy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

