What Is Life All About?

August 1, 2009 at 4:31 am Leave a comment

The house has been very quiet today even though our oldest son is here from North Carolina. Quite a contrast to the other times when he has visited.  This is the first time we’ve been together since Dan’s memorial services.  I can’t speak for the others, but I know I’ve had flashbacks today.

Flashbacks of…when Dan was healthy, when ill but we thought  he’d win over cancer, when he was going downhill, his last day with us, our last moments together as he began to draw his final gasping breaths and his right hand had turned white, and how nice he looked in his black pullover and new beige, size 44 trousers that I bought to fit his swollen middle, how I lay across his chest and told him goodbye before they respectfully rolled the table on which he lay out the door to the van that was to take him to the crematorium.

That is the reality of life and death.  Depending on what your hope is, this could turn you to bitterness, or it could draw you closer to the Lord.  In my sorrow, I turned to scripture.  Psalm 120:1, “I call upon the Lord in my distress and He answers me.”  I looked further for a word from God.  He gave me Psalm 40:16,17, “But may all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you; may those who love your salvation always say, ‘The Lord be exalted!’ Yet I am poor and needy; may the Lord think of me.  You are my help and my deliverer; O my God, do not delay.”

Scriptures I underlined long ago stood out on that page.  “Blessed is he who has regard for the weak.  The Lord delivers him in times of trouble.”  Do you think that my deep desire to help the abandoned in Romania is motivated by the Lord?  I do. The joy helping those precious souls gives me is reward enough.  But God has delivered me in my time of trouble today.

“Why are you downcast, O my soul?  Why so disturbed within me?  Put your hope in God for I will yet praise HIm, my Savior and my God.” Psalm 42:11.   “Why must I go about mourning, oppressed by the enemy?  Send forth your light and your truth, let them guide me; let them bring me to your holy mountain, to the place where you dwell.” Psalm 43:2,3.  “It was not by their sword that they won the land, nor did their arm bring them victory.  It was your right hand, your arm and the light of your face, for you loved them.”  Psalm 44:3.

That is what life is about.  Are you ready for such a walk with God?  — Anne

100_1958

Your attitude about life is a choice. Will you see the world as a Cold Place without meaning or joy?

Or will you see God's majesty around you, and let HIm help you find a peaceful path in the midst of your challenging life?

Or will you see God's majesty around you, and let HIm help you find a peaceful path in the midst of your challenging life?

Entry filed under: but Not Alone.

Where Is the Sun? A Glimpse of More of Dan’s Conversations with Dr. Dick van Geet

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

