Returning to Romania

August 10, 2009 at 8:50 am 1 comment

People are asking, “What is your flight schedule?  Where will you fly from?  When will you arrive in Sfantu Gheorghe?”   Some are saying, “I’m concerned you won’t be safe traveling alone.”  So, here’s the latest info…

Tuesday, Aug 11, at 3:10 p.m., KLM Airlines takes me from San Francisco to Amsterdam in 10 1/2 hours!  After a 2 hour layover there, I go to Bucharest.  Using air miles, I upgraded to Business Class which makes travel much easier. Eugen and Petronela Ana, (new friends that I met through the American missionary in Bucharest) will pick me up at the Bucharest airport 4:50 p.m., Wednesday.

The Anas invited me to spend Wednesday night with them.  Thursday morning, Adolf will pick me up and bring me back to Sfantu Gheorghe.  I don’t know my arrival time, but I think we will be back in town by 15:00. Yes, I will be safe the entire trip even though I am traveling “alone.”

But what I’m coming to learn is that when I choose to walk with Jesus, I am never alone.  And, no matter what happens, I will be okay.  Sounds rather air-headed to some people.  But think about Dan…he is okay now.  He is well.  He is free.  He is alive in Heaven.  And, look at me…I am able to grieve my loss but my faith in Jesus is keeping me safe.  I don’t have to sit in a dark room and cry all day.  I do cry, but most of the time I save my grief for when other people are not around.  And God gives me joyful things to think about after I have finished crying for that moment.  — Anne

HERE  ARE MORE OF THE  “100 Little Thoughts About God, Man and Society,” by Dr. Dick van Geet, Utrecht, Holland.

THE LOST CODE

Man is like standing in front of a safe that contains the secret meaning of life. But alas, the code word is lost. Now what to do. One could try thousands of combinations, but the chance of finding the successful key word is extremely small. One could invite the most brilliant scientists, but intelligence will not be very helpful. The only possibility is: wait until someone turns up with the pretention that he knows the right code and subsequently applies this code hoping it will work. See whether it can really open the safe.

During 2500 years brilliant philosophers have tried to open ‘the safe of existence’  but without convincing success. So let us stop trying to pull ourselves up on our own hairs and let us apply the ‘codes’ that we received. Whoever seriously tries the ‘keys’ will soon discover that there is only one key that suits precisely and that can open up the safe. Only Christianity explains why we exist, why there is  good and evil and what is the difference between them, why we have to die, etc.”

(to be continued)

Entry filed under: A Word from Dan, but Not Alone.

All Is Well Blessed in Sfantu Gheorghe, Romania

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Belinda Harmon  |  August 10, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    I for one am very proud of you!!

    Love & Blessings,

    Belinda

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

