Showers of Blessings!

August 17, 2009 at 8:32 am 2 comments

Things are going well.  This is the place for me at this stage in my life.  I am strong.  I love the good people here.  They take care of me.  Both Dan and I wanted me to be here.  During dinner with new friends the other day, Adolf told about LST.  Then he turned to me to tell when the teams will be here (12 September – late October).

Saturday, I attended a real Hungarian wedding.  It was beautiful.  However, the most beautiful things were the hearts of the people.  Most of them have been friends for years.  There was a deep thread of love and caring that runs through the group.  And that love and caring was extended to me.  However, what I didn’t know was that if you are invited to the wedding and the private dinner following the reception,you will be there awhile!

Starting at 4:30, the wedding was very special.  During the ceremony, the priest wrapped a 4″ lovely band of white cloth around the couple’s lower arms and clasped hands as he pronounced a blessing. A reception for all followed the wedding.  Then a private party for family and close friends began.  We had dinner at 6:30 p.m. Being a good girl, I cleaned my plate as my mother taught me.  Much to my surprise, about 10 p.m. a HUGE dinner was served on a wooden platter.  Later, here came the wedding cake with a fireworks-like tube shooting sparkles out of the top of the cake!

Even though I don’t speak much Hungarian yet, speaking English (and also using my Dutch that I learned while living in Holland for 5 years in the 60’s, I communicated with all of the guests who speak English or German). Can you guess one thing that I told them about?  Did I hear you say, “LST?”  You are Right!  After a rich, rewarding evening, I got home at 3 a.m. Sunday!

People here are very interested in improving their conversational English.  We may have some more outstanding people as Readers as a result of them reaching out to me!  I came to help the people of Sfantu Gheorghe.  Yet, they are blessing me…it’s like walking through a warm, brilliant shower of blessings. God is good! — Anne

Meet the Bride and Groom Meet the Bride and Groom
The First Dinner
The First Dinner
The Second Dinner

The Second Dinner

Entry filed under: but Not Alone.

Blessed in Sfantu Gheorghe, Romania God Provides More Than I Need

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  August 19, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Anne,
    What a wonderful blessing you have attending the wedding [and dinner following] showered with loving, accepting people who appreciate you being there with them! I am very happy the Lord is good to you in Romania! Indeed, God is good all the time … and God is richly blessing you now. Thank you for sharing your experience and the wedding photos of the lovely bride and groom and their wedding meal.
    Love,
    Sherrie Hammond

    Reply
  • 2. Fern Doyle  |  August 21, 2009 at 12:12 am

    So good to know you arrived in Romania safe. We pray that much honor and glory to our Lord will be accomplished through this effort. It sounds like you are doing ok. May God’s blessings be with you.
    Fern

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

