Very Special Thoughts

September 3, 2009 at 8:01 pm 2 comments

Today was a blessed day, a full day.  Part of the time was spent with Andrea and Reka who are going out of their way to help me find the things I need, so I can move into my new home.  No one ever had finer daughters or granddaughters than these two young women.

Tomorrow, when Reka finishes at her school, she will take me in her car to buy the weekly groceries.  This is to be our routine.  I will buy my groceries when she does her weekly shopping.  That way, I won’t have to go to the store every day or carry heavy bags of groceries back to the apartment.  Praise God who provides my every need.  — Anne

“100 Little Thoughts about God, Man and Society,” a collection gleaned from 49 years of conversations between Dan and Dr. Dick van Geet, our former neighbor in Utrecht, Holland.

ROOTS

We could learn something from storms. When does a tree come into troubles ? If its roots are not deep enough. From the outside it might look well, but inside it dries up gradually and eventually starts rotting. One autumn storm and it is blown down. Thus is man. Thus is marriage or friendship. Thus are cultures. Thus is religion. Without deep roots everything will collaps.  Sooner or later.

SCIENCE AND FAITH

In a certain sense  knowledge by faith is more reliable than scientific knowledge. Nothing more sure than direct experiences.

If I have a toothache or if I love or hate someone etc. no one can tell me it is not true : they are just direct and therefore unrefutable and undeniable experiences. The same applies for my (religious) beliefs, my faith. Science however, is based on a lot of assumptions and presuppossitions, which after some time can turn out to be inaccurate or false (consider e.g. the methodologies of  Popper, Kuhn, Lakatos and Feyerabend). However, how undeniable they may be, my personal feelings, my inner experiences can – contrary to science – never pretend  general truth.

THE BIG SEDUCERS

Power, money and sex are the most dangerous seducers. Especially if there is a relation between them. Sex and money means prostitution, power and money (often) corruption, and power and sex often sex slavery.

SELF-DEIFICATION

It is our unconcious tendency to consider ourselves as a kind of god – how little it may be – that is responsible for the majority of our fallacies and misconceptions.”

(to be continued)

Canepei Street approaching my green house.

Canepei Street approaching my green house.

Front entrance to my house.  The entire little front yard will be an English style flower garden with 10 rose bushes and other flowers.

Front entrance to my house. The entire little front yard will be an English style flower garden with 10 rose bushes and other flowers.

The garage is on the West side of the house with the terrace (in Texas, it's called a back porch) facing NW.

The garage is on the West side of the house with the terrace (in Texas, it's called a back porch) facing NW.

Entry filed under: A Word from Dan.

A Sunny Day in Transylvania Preparing for LST

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christine  |  September 4, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    Anne, your home is lovely… I recall a beautiful garden in your back yard in Coppell; I can only imagine that this one will be just as beautiful! Keeping you close in prayer! Love you!

    Reply
  • 2. Sherrie Hammond  |  September 14, 2009 at 2:49 am

    I am very thankful to finally see photos of your new house. I couldn’t imagine what it looked like, so I am happy for your photos. Nature will be growing all around you … you will be in your own “little heaven on earth” among all the flower gardens and fruit trees surrounding your house … your own haven of beauty and hope. How beautiful and wonderful for you! Now, I see why Satan was trying so hard to keep you away in exile from your new home … God’ Promise was just around the corner for you.

    Praise God! God’s Promise to turn your desert times into beautiful times again comes true. God’s Promise, “The dry desert will become very happy. The desert will be glad and will grow like a flower. The desert will be full of growing flowers and will begin to show its happiness. It will seem like the desert is dancing with joy. The desert will be beautiful like the forest of Lebanon, the hill of Carmel, and Sharon Valley. This will happen because all people will see the Glory of the Lord. People will see the beauty of our God (Isaiah 35:1,2-ETRV).”

    Love you,
    Sherrie Hammond

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

