House Comes Fully Equipped with Free Watch Dog!

October 8, 2009 at 8:42 pm 3 comments

Can you imagine, though I had to pay extra for the kitchen sink and cabinets, the dog did not cost me a penny!  A stray that looks a bit like a big greyhound chose to live here during the time the house was being built.  He is grey with scattered horizontal black stripes.  He’s so ugly that he is almost handsome!  During the day, he is quiet, gentle.  At night, he becomes the opposite if a stranger gets near.

Today 4 young pigs were grazing near the house.  (This little development of 10 houses is surrounded by large vegetable gardens on 3 sides.)  Bogi, my dog, was walking with the piglets.  When one tried to come in my yard.  I made a noise with a metal pan, and the piglet went away. But a second piglet decided to try his luck.  As soon as that little pig got close to my yard, Bogi snarled at him, nipping in the air close to the piglet until he turned around and ran the other direction.  Satisfied, Bogi came to me for well deserved praise.

At night, Bogi sleeps right beside the front door down by the foundation.  He is there when I wake up in the mornings.  Knowing from experience that he is ferocious when a stranger comes at night, I sleep securely.  (The security lights and the double locks on the doors help too.)

So many good things have happened since I arrived here.  People continue to be kind in a myriad of ways.  Gusti and Aranka, former owners of this house, have stored their winter vegetables in my food cellar until their house is ready.  They told me that I am to use any of it that I wish – homemade jam, carrots, beets, rutabagas, onions, potatoes, walnuts, pickled vegetables, apples.

All the extra papers needed for my visa were turned in Wednesday.  The Visa Official called me by my name this time. We are finally friends.  He said to return 11 November to pick up my visa card.  Until then, the letter from the Health Minister will suffice in place of the card.

Almost everyone in this little city of 60,000 population know about the Americans staying in the apartment on Lalelei who help people improve their conversational English.  Now, they are learning that one of the women has bought a house on the other side of town.  The outpouring of kindness and thanksgiving from the citizens of Sfantu Gheorghe, Romania, is so heartwarming…a genuine testimony to the  truth of Philippians 4:19, “My God will meet all your needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus.” — Anne

Meet Bogi. He is much larger than he appears sitting down below the porch.

Meet Bogi. He is much larger than he appears sitting down below the porch.

Gusti (Hungarian for Gus), builder and former owner of my house, helped me move in Oct. 1, '09

Gusti (Hungarian for Gus), builder and former owner of my house, helped me move in Oct. 1, '09

Adolf and Gusti put together my "Ikea type" wardrobe.

Adolf and Gusti put together my "Ikea type" wardrobe.

Tibi and Gusti had to remove the fridge door in order to move it so I can easily open the door.  The delivery men somehow got it in place but then the fridge door, and the kitchen door hit each other!  The men moved it across the room for me.

Tibi and Gusti had to remove the fridge door in order to move it so I can easily open the door. The delivery men somehow got it in place but then the fridge door, and the kitchen door hit each other! The men moved it across the room for me.

God provides peaceful beauty any time of day at my new house.

God provides peaceful beauty any time of day at my new house.

Entry filed under: but Not Alone.

God Sends Good Hearts to Help What DO You Do All Day?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sherrie Hammond  |  October 8, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    Hello Anne!
    I must have checked your website everyday since your last entry to see if you were moved into your new home yet. I am so glad you are finally moving into your new house and with so many kind and wonderful helpers … and protective watch dog too!

    God is pouring forth His kind and loving favor with compassionate mercy upon you … an answer to my prayers for you. Praise His name … He is good to us all the time. It sounds like St George is a very friendly place indeed. I’m very glad the Visa man is your friend now, too. The wonders of God’s lovingkindness softens hearts. God is amazing!
    Love,
    Sherrie Hammond

    Reply
  • 2. Nancy Lawrence  |  October 13, 2009 at 4:01 am

    Anne, Your days sound like they are filled with many things on your “to do” list. I can’t imagine how busy you must be. I admire your strength and stamina to get everything done each day. I’m sure you are so much more productive than many of us (I’m at the top of that list).

    Bogi looks like a very good dog. He is quite handsome.

    It is wonderful that you have friends that will take care of the chores that need to be done. Yes, you are lucky to have a bag lady and friend to help you gather your treasures. Sounds like a Romanian Dollar General.

    Anxious to see more pictures of the Little Green House when you get it all put together.

    God is good — all the time.

    Tommy and Nancy

    Reply
  • 3. Lil Kwast  |  October 21, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    I can just see Dan grinning about how Bogi made himself at home and assumed his job as guardian. Yes, God provides all of our needs, even those we didn’t think about needing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

