My Thoughts Turn Towards Home

February 5, 2010 at 5:53 am 2 comments

My apple green house (and my full length parka coat) await my arrival.

After two months in the U.S. “recharging my battery,” the call of Transylvania is irresistible. Saturday, Feb. 13, ’10, I board a plane to begin my trek back to Sfantu Gheorghe, Transylvania, Romania.   This has been a very important two months for my work.  Connecting with old and new friends at the Missions Resource Network Conference for Romania & Albania along with deeper ties with California intentional followers of Jesus continues to bless me and the work in Transylvania.

You may be asking, “What is so special about Sfantu Gheorghe, Transylvania, Romania, that makes it important for you to make your home there, Anne?”  It is simply this…never before in my life has God opened the doors to help so many good hearts of  fine young professional adults,  and teens who want to become even better people. This is being accomplished through me training licensed psychologists and Social Workers, being a guest teacher at Mikos High School, counseling the hurting, helping the local Red Cross feed, clothe, and provide medical care for the abandoned children and elderly…and facilitating 2 English small group Bible discussions.

I am thankful to God for giving me such a joyful life at age 75.  This Transylvanian Adventure began to happen in 2000 after I started praying, “God use me as a tool in your hands to glorify you.”  And, for good measure, I added Jabez’s prayer which is found in I Chronicles 4:10, “Jabez cried out to the God of Israel, ‘Oh, that you would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let your hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I will be free from pain.’ And God granted his request.”   God granted my request in a very unexpected, surprising way by expanding my territory all the way to my apple green house in Sfantu Gheorghe, Romania!

If you are blessed to have a job in the midst of these difficult times, and wish to help with this joyous work, go to http://gods-children.org, and click on How You Can Help, then click on Donate on the right hand side of the page.  I wonder how many of you will decide to begin praying for God to use you as a tool in His hands, or pray like Jabez so courageously did.  — Anne

After the counselor training session at Pro Nobis Center

Our youngest son first invited Dan to go with him to see the benevolent works the Randy Dean Family was doing. This led eventually to us moving to Sfantu Gheorghe in 2008. The Deans gave many years of service in Sfantu Gheorghe.

It will be nice to be back in my kitchen with friends.

Entry filed under: but Not Alone.

Getting My Eyes Focused! Too Many Memories

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emily  |  February 5, 2010 at 4:36 pm

    Hi Anne, I work in the LST office and got to meet you a few weeks ago when you stopped by. I really appreciate your honesty and the way you challenge your readers. I really like the words you used today, and I am praying for God to use me as a tool in His hands. God bless you and keep you.

    Reply
  • 2. Sherrie Hammond  |  February 9, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    Lovely, uplifting thoughts about your home in Romania. I love the photos that illustrate and tell your story. I am happy the Lord is using you in a significant, helpful, and uplifting way for many people in Romania. I am glad the Romanian people warmly receive you and make you “feel right at home as family.” These are God’s blessings to be cherished … and you do cherish God’s blessings..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

